#1 Home Improvement Retailer

Customer Reviews for Varathane 11.25 oz. Clear Semi-Gloss Water-Based Interior Polyurethane Spray Paint

Internet #100131610

Model #200181

Store SKU #279774

  • Easy to spray superior poly protection for interior wood surfaces
  • Durable top coat protects the surface with a crystal clear finish
  • Fast dry poly does not yellow over time, covers up to 25 sq. ft.

Customer Reviews

  • 3.4
    out of 231 reviews
  • 40% recommend this product
Filter by:
Showing 1-30 of 231 reviews
by
  • Verified Purchase
Excellent product and excellent results...
Excellent product and excellent results
by
  • Verified Purchase
I regret buying a water based lacquer. It sprays poorly...
I regret buying a water based lacquer. It sprays poorly not uniformly. I am sure the regular lacquer products are great. I will buy regular oil based lacquer from now on.
by
Response from Rust-OleumSupportDec 28, 2020
Thank you for your feedback about the spray pattern of Rust-Oleum Varathane Water-Based Ultimate Polyurethane Spray. For the best results, we recommend applying several light coats a few minutes apart verses one heavy coat.
- Rust-Oleum Product Support 3 Rustoleum
  • Verified Purchase
Works well but expensive...
Works well but expensive
by
  • Verified Purchase
Rating provided by a verified purchaser...
Rating provided by a verified purchaser
by
  • Verified Purchase
Didnt spray well. Bad aerosol tip or something...
Didnt spray well. Bad aerosol tip or something
by
Response from Rust-OleumSupportDec 4, 2020
Oh no, we don't like to hear that! Certainly, it is important to thoroughly shake Rust-Oleum Varathane Water-Based Ultimate Polyurethane Spray prior to use, and occasionally during use as well. The can should be shaken for no less than one minute after the mixing ball in the can begins to rattle. This ensures that the product is mixed well, and prevents larger particles from being sprayed through the nozzle.
You also want to make sure the finger that presses down on the nozzle stays clean and free of any paint. It is important to have your index finger centered on the nozzle itself. If your finger is too forward it can cause some blocking of the spray mist as it comes out of the can, which can cause sputtering or larger drops to be sprayed on the surface.
- Rust-Oleum Product Support 3 Rustoleum
  • Verified Purchase
Used on wood and pottery so far has held up...
Used on wood and pottery so far has held up
by
  • Verified Purchase
by
  • Verified Purchase
Been using this for years for small projects. It's...
Been using this for years for small projects. It's all I want in a film forming finish.
by
  • Verified Purchase
States that it will spray on milky looking, but will...
States that it will spray on milky looking, but will dry clear. I have patches of faint milky patches in my project.
by
Response from Rust-OleumSupportNov 12, 2020
Oh no, we can help! There are really only a couple of things that can cause a milky appearance in the Rust-Oleum Varathane Water-based Polyurethane Spray, such as not stirring thoroughly before and during use, or there is moisture trapped beneath the finish. If the problem is moisture in the coating, you can try to wipe the surface down with a soft cloth and denatured alcohol. The denatured alcohol will sometimes draw the moisture to the surface which will remove the milkiness. If this does not work, the only other way to remove the milkiness is to lightly sand the finish and recoat. - Rust-Oleum Product Support 5 Rustoleum
  • Verified Purchase
Spray tip needs improvement....
Spray tip needs improvement.
by
Response from Rust-OleumSupportNov 11, 2020
Thank you for providing this feedback on our Varathane Water-Based Polyurethane Spray! - Rust-Oleum Product Support 2 Rustoleum
  • Verified Purchase
Easy to use and works as expected.
Easy to use and works as expected.
by
  • Verified Purchase
  • Recommended
Rating provided by a verified purchaser...
Rating provided by a verified purchaser
by
  • Verified Purchase
Great product used as a finisher for my table project...
Great product used as a finisher for my table project .
by
  • Verified Purchase
easy to use and good results...
easy to use and good results
by
  • Verified Purchase
I am not a fan of the wipe of so...
I am not a fan of the wipe of so I prefer a spray. First time using this. I made a wine rack and wanted a little protection. I did not sand in between coats of on the final coat bc of time but wish I did. It felt a little rough. You couldn't tell by looking at it. Hot AZ day so the drytime was quick. Added 4 coats.Would buy again
by
  • Verified Purchase
Good product, works as described....
Good product, works as described.
by
  • Verified Purchase
by
  • Verified Purchase
Followed directions to a "t". First five seconds sprayed fine then it kept spitting globs. Ruined...
Followed directions to a "t". First five seconds sprayed fine then it kept spitting globs. Ruined what I was trying to clear coat. Never again.
by
Response from Rust-OleumSupportAug 14, 2020
That's not what we like to hear, Scott! If you have the can of the Rust-Oleum Varathane Water-Based Polyurethane, please consider reaching us, so we can try to make things right and investigate the issues you're experiencing. We can be reached at (800) 901-0411 - Rust-Oleum Product Support 1 Rustoleum
  • Pro
  • Verified Purchase
Spray can nowhere near as quality of liquid. ...
Spray can nowhere near as quality of liquid. Will not use this again for cornhole boards.
by
Response from Rust-OleumSupportAug 17, 2020
We appreciate your feedback! For the best results, we recommend applying several light coats of Rust-Oleum Varathane Water-Based Ultimate Polyurethane Spray. This will provide for a better finish than trying to achieve full coverage with one coat.
- Rust-Oleum Product Support 3 Rustoleum
  • Verified Purchase
An adjustable spray nozzle would help...
An adjustable spray nozzle would help
by
  • Verified Purchase
Every time I use spray Polyurethane I regret it. The coats are so thin they do not provide any p...
Every time I use spray Polyurethane I regret it. The coats are so thin they do not provide any protection and you end up brushing on polyurethane from a can. This is the first time I used the water based poly and I am not sure after using up two cans and three coats, I could tell if any was on the wood. Skip the spray and use brush on from a can.
by
Response from Rust-OleumSupportJul 31, 2020
That is not what we like to hear, Cooper! If three coats have been applied and no film has been built up on the surface, the polyurethane may be getting applied too thinly, across too large of an area. For larger surface areas a brush-on polyurethane is a better option. - Rust-Oleum Product Support 2 Rustoleum
  • Verified Purchase
This product failed to go on smooth or self level. Even the spray nozzle was a disappointment, i...
This product failed to go on smooth or self level. Even the spray nozzle was a disappointment, it did not provide a fan shaped spray pattern which allows for a much more even coat. I will not buy this product again.
by
Response from Rust-OleumSupportJul 22, 2020
Thank you for your feedback, Kev! For the best results, we recommend applying several light coats of Rust-Oleum Varathane Water-Based Ultimate Polyurethane Spray verses one heavy coat. This will help ensure a smooth finish and the best coverage.
- Rust-Oleum Product Support 3 Rustoleum
  • DIY
  • Verified Purchase
This is a terrible product. It is not semi-gloss,...
This is a terrible product. It is not semi-gloss, it's a matte or satin finish...not at all what I needed for my product. Perhaps I got a can that was missed by "Quality Control".
by
Response from Rust-OleumSupportJul 9, 2020
Let's talk about this, Brenda! Rust-Oleum Varathane Water-Based Ultimate Polyurethane Spray needs to be applied with several light, even coats. You also want to ensure that you are applying within the recommended temperatures and not applying in direct sunlight or in windy conditions. If applying over a more porous surface, additional coats may need to be applied to help build the desired sheen.
- Rust-Oleum Product Support 3 Rustoleum
  • Verified Purchase
Rating provided by a verified purchaser...
Rating provided by a verified purchaser
by
  • Verified Purchase
Worst polyurethane spray I've ever used. It would spray a...
Worst polyurethane spray I've ever used. It would spray a little, then splatter a little, then completely stop, spray a little, stop, splatter, etc, etc, ect. Yes, I shooked it up, not my first time to use a spray can. DON'T WASTE YOUR MONEY!
by
Response from Rust-OleumSupportJun 24, 2020
It sounds like the nozzle may have been clogged in the Rust-Oleum Varathane Polyurethane Spray. Let us try to help! Please call us at (800) 901-0411 to discuss further. Please be sure you have the can available also. - Rust-Oleum Product Support 1 Rustoleum
  • Verified Purchase
Great product for finishing, finish is not too shiny and protects the product.
Great product for finishing, finish is not too shiny and protects the product.
by
  • Verified Purchase
  • Recommended
The spray valve is inconsistent in delivering a consistent aerosol...
The spray valve is inconsistent in delivering a consistent aerosol of small particle size resulting in large droplets on the surface. Also, it appears that this batch was contaminated with a small amount of micron sized black fiberous particles that ruined the finish. Maybe a filter used in manufacturing degraded. I liked how it dried and looked, except for the sporadic black particles.
by
Response from Rust-OleumSupportJun 17, 2020
That was not the intent, Rob. We would like to hear more about your experience with the Rust-Oleum Varathane Water-Based Polyurethane Spray that you're using. If you could please have the can available and reach us at (800) 901-0411, we would be happy to dig into this a bit more to see what's going on and try to make this right. - Rust-Oleum Product Support 1 Rustoleum
  • Verified Purchase
Easy to use and great shine...
Easy to use and great shine
by
  • Verified Purchase
Not a fan
Now before before you tell me, in a reply, to thoroughly shake the can or spray 10 to 12 inches away, yes I've done this. I use this kind of product on several small projects and this polyurethane is a disappointment. Sorry to say, when this can is empty, I'll be going back to the competitors brand.
by
Response from Rust-OleumSupportJun 15, 2020
Thank you for sharing your experience! To ensure the best finish with Rust-Oleum Varathane Water-Based Ultimate Polyurethane Spray, we recommend applying several light coats a few minutes verses one heavy coat. You also want to ensure that you are applying within the recommended temperatures and humidity levels.
- Rust-Oleum Product Support 3 Rustoleum
    Showing 1-30 of 231 reviews

    Frequently Bought Together

    +
    +
    Price:

    Compare Similar Items

    current item

    Container Size

    11.25 Ounce

    11 Ounce

    1 Quart

    1 Quart

    Sheen

    Semi-Gloss

    Semi-Gloss

    Semi-Gloss

    Satin

    Base Material

    Water Based

    Oil Based

    Water Based

    Water Based

    Application Method

    Aerosol

    Aerosol

    Brush

    Brush

    Paint/Stain Features

    Dries Clear

    No additional features

    Sealer

    Sealer