#1 Home Improvement Retailer

Customer Reviews for Hampton Bay Truitt 14.2 in. 2-Light Brushed Nickel Modern Transitional Vanity with Frosted and Clear Edge Glass Shades

Internet #205789426

Model #HB2578-35

Store SKU #1001255104

  • Great in bathroom and bedroom vanity areas or as hallway lighting
  • Transitional brushed nickel indoor vanity light fixture
  • Vanity light requires (2) E26 light bulbs (not included)

Customer Reviews

  • 4.6
    out of 844 reviews
  • 86% recommend this product
Filter by:
Showing 1-30 of 844 reviews
Great light especially at this price
I ordered this for a project at my family member’s new home that needs some updating. The Hampton Bay Truitt 4-Light Brushed Nickel Vanity Light with combination Clear and Etched Glass Shades has looks and feel way above its price. The first thing you notice is weight of the brushed nickel body. Some of these vanity lights are much thinner materials and this is made from much more substantial materials. The quality of the finish is excellent and the detail on the glass globes is unique, again especially at this price point. The globe is part clear and then frosted/etched on the lower 80% of the glass. There is a very nice nickel trim ring mounted at the edge of the glass bottom as well as a nickel cover over the ceramic fixture that doubles as the screw that holds the glass to the fixture. The only negative I could come up with is that when screwing the glass with the nickel cover/screw is difficult because the glass is about the width of a pickle jar. So, getting anything beyond a small hand in there is tough without using some sort of tool to do the job. Overall, this is a great light with style and well made.
by
  • Recommended
Shades are not long enough for Edison bulbs
The Hampton Bay Truitt 4-light vanity light is really pretty. The combination of clear and etched glass on the shades adds so much visual interest. When they recommend a bulb shape on the website, they are serious. I was hoping to use Edison bulbs since that is the type of bulb I have in all of the fixtures in which the bulbs are exposed. The shades on this fixture don't accommodate the length of Edison bulbs. If Edison bulbs would work, I would give this five stars but they extend beyond the bottom of the shades (see photo). We can easily use the traditional 100 watt equivalent 5000K LED bulbs that were in the original fixture. If you are replacing an existing vanity light and don't want to touch up the paint, pay attention to the size and shape of the mounting plate. Our existing fixture had an oval plate that was the same size so we didn't have to paint. This fixture provides plenty of light for a larger bathroom, especially when mounted with the shades facing down, and it looks expensive.
by
  • Recommended
Loving our new bathroom light!
We recently replaced the lighting in our guest bathroom with a light that only had 3-lights. It was nice and looked great but didn’t quite put out the light we were looking for. My wife recently found this Hampton Bay 4-light and it was absolutely perfect. That one extra light made quite a difference in how bright and evenly the bathroom is lit up. The light was very well packaged and was super easy to assemble and install. Since this light is rated for damp locations it is perfect for a bathroom or any other place that might have moisture.
by
Great Up-Scale Looking Fixture
The new 4-Light Brushed Nickel Vanity Light with combination Clear and Etched Glass Shades really works great in our bath. The old bar light was out dated and when I saw this fixture I had to have it. The glass globes have the middle area etched and has a brushed nickel ring around the bottom edge. It can mounted with the globes upright or pointed downward. The fixture has a great rich up-scale look to it and I recommend this the fixture.
by
  • Recommended
Another great fixture from Hampton Bay
I had ordered the fixture and was delivered today. So wanted to get it installed, great packing I have to say no of the flakey packing the ends up all over the place. Was very east to install, being an electrician I but it all together prior to having as is much easier with the glass that has to be held on and the holding nut screwed on to the lamp holder, take your time as it seems to hang up at times, but it will go just take your time. Does not have a fixture holder so I used the ground wire wrapped around the mounting plate to help hold it up, then just hooked it up and left it. Looks great, very bright with the LED bulbs 5000K but you can use any med. bace you would like. And for some who want to have upside down or even sideways you can to it and if you use dimmable bulbs is dimmable. Great looking and pretty easy to install
by
  • Recommended
Although it’s a vanity light I used it for the...
Although it’s a vanity light I used it for the indoor stairs because it looks like a boat lamp. And that’s the look I wanted to have. Beautiful and easy to assemble.
by
    1 found this review helpful
    Bath remodel
    Mounted it with the glass in the down position. Love it & great light
    by
    • Verified Purchase
    • Recommended
    Nothing But Problems
    Installation of this product is terrible.The mounting screws are too long and show the thread and as a result I cannot get the backplate flush with the wall.In addition,HD provides a large box for reviews but has very limited character count. Do Better HD
    by
    Response from Cordelia Lighting TeamSep 28, 2022
    Thank you very much for your feedback, please be advised that the information you have sharded has been provided to our product development team for product improvements. CordeliaLighting
      3 found this review helpful
      Great product, looks good...
      Great product, looks good
      by
      • Verified Purchase
      Nice addition to remodel
      This looks so nice above my new vanity and mirror. Very classy in the Brushed Nickel finish with low wattage LED lights, don't need much power for a very bright light due to the open glass. We turned ours upside down.
      by
        • Recommended
        1 found this review helpful
        Clean, modern looking with strong light.
        This fixture was purchased for a bathroom remodel. It’s such a modern, sleek upgrade with no hassle to install, and I’m loving the way it matches the rest of the aesthetic. We decided to install it facing downwards and it looks fantastic
        by
          • Recommended
          1 found this review helpful
          Excellent and well built light for the price. Some fixtures like this can be a pain to change a b...
          Excellent and well built light for the price. Some fixtures like this can be a pain to change a bulb because of the design, this one does not have that problem.
          by
          Response from Cordelia Lighting TeamFeb 17, 2021
          We are so happy that you are satisfied with your Hampton Bay Truitt 4-Light Brushed Nickel Vanity Light with combination Clear and Etched Glass Shades CordeliaLighting
            • Recommended
            1 found this review helpful
            Cute and simple for the price but it rusts really bad!... Only 6 months into having in our kid's ...
            Cute and simple for the price but it rusts really bad!... Only 6 months into having in our kid's bathroom and it's covered in rust... Disappointed. Wouldn't recommend.
            by
            Response from Cordelia Lighting TeamFeb 8, 2021
            We are so happy that you are satisfied with your Hampton Bay Truitt 4-Light Brushed Nickel Vanity Light with combination Clear and Etched Glass Shades CordeliaLighting
              12 found this review helpful
              completely rusted after 3 years
              I bought 4 of these for my rental properties because they were inexpensive and damp rated. They were inexpensive and looked nice at first but are now all rusted. Not sure if it would have made a difference if I paid for a more expensive light. Either way, I need to replace all of them because they are completely rusted.
              by
              Response from Cordelia Lighting TeamSep 28, 2022
              Thank you very much for this information. This information will be shared with our product development team for product improvement. For Warranty claims please contact us at info@cordelia.com. CordeliaLighting
                17 found this review helpful
                Easy to install. I love the look!...
                Easy to install. I love the look!
                by
                • Verified Purchase
                3 found this review helpful
                No replacement parts available
                This is an update of my original review from June 2, 2020. I'm taking back anything good I said about this product. Home Depot is selling a product that they can not support. The glass shade in previous reviews fails. This failure causes the shade to break apart falling to the bathroom floor to shatter. What Home Depot & Hampton Bay aren't revealing is this model line has no replacement shade to replace once the failure occurred. So they sold this product with no way to resolve issues except for exchange. So you have to completely uninstall the light fixture, and package it up to return it to the Home Depot you purchased it from. The process leaves you without a light fixture in Bathroom, and now you have to reinstall what ever fixture you find to replace. So you have no light again in your bathroom till the new one is installed. Any of the good qualities this device may have had are totally undone by the poor ability to support the product.
                by
                  18 found this review helpful
                  Broken light shade
                  I received this light fixture on April 15, 2020. I did not install on date received. However I would like to say this light fixture looks great when it is complete with the light bulbs working, and is very very easy to install. I would have given this product 5 stars across all categories. This was my intention if I had filled out the review on May 13, 2020 when the installation was completed. On May 31, 2020 my wife & I both were away from the house. When we returned home in the attached pictures as you can see. The shade on the one side of the light fixture failed. We found peices shattered all over the bathroom. There was one piece still being held in the area of the fixture where securing nut would support the whole shade. I did see in a review where this failure occurred with the shade in a past review. The date on that review; I felt this opportunity would been resolved by Hampton Bay by now. So I made the purchase to put just another Hampton Bay product in my home. I have not reached out to Hampton Bay nor Home Depot other than this review at this point. But my hope is they have a fix for this, and will take this opportunity to make this right . This is first Hampton Bay product I've ever purchased. Where I'm questioning my purchase.
                  by
                    • Recommended
                    5 found this review helpful
                    Love the clear and sand glass
                    We purchased the 3 and 4 light, so beautiful I wanted the lights to face down for easier cleaning.. These lights brought both bathroom remodeled to life. Brushed nickel gives it a really nice look to it. 60watts is enough lighting and very bright. It’s everything we wanted in one, hubby wanted sand glass and I wanted clear so we both got what we wanted.
                    by
                      • Recommended
                      2 found this review helpful
                      Discolored like rusting
                      After only a year of having this in my newly remodeled bathroom it shows signs of what looks like rust. The material is brushed nickel. I tried to wipe it off but it doesn’t come off.
                      by
                      Response from Cordelia Lighting TeamSep 28, 2022
                      Thank you very much for this information. This information will be shared with our product development team for product improvement. For Warranty claims please contact us at info@cordelia.com. CordeliaLighting
                        9 found this review helpful
                        It's a good quality product and well designed.
                        It's a good quality product and well designed.
                        by
                        • Verified Purchase
                        • Recommended
                        1 found this review helpful
                        Very nice product, easy to install and gives off good...
                        Very nice product, easy to install and gives off good light.
                        by
                        • Verified Purchase
                        1 found this review helpful
                        Nice fairly simple installation. Very good looking fixture. Was a great choice for my bathroom re...
                        Nice fairly simple installation. Very good looking fixture. Was a great choice for my bathroom remodel/update
                        by
                        • Verified Purchase
                        • Recommended
                        1 found this review helpful
                        Rating provided by a verified purchaser...
                        Rating provided by a verified purchaser
                        by
                        • Verified Purchase
                        I've looked for months to find an updated vanity light to replace the 25+ year old lights in the ...
                        I've looked for months to find an updated vanity light to replace the 25+ year old lights in the bathroom. The old light was chrome with little design both with the fixture and glass globe. When I came across these brushed nickel lights I knew they would add a modern style to the look I wanted to achieve. The lights look beautiful and were easy to install. The only negative is you need to be carful install the shade and light bulb. The metal rim and the bottom (or top depending on how you install it) can be very sharp and cut your hand. I purchased 60watt clear LED bright white bulbs and the are perfect for these fixtures.
                        by
                        • Verified Purchase
                        • Recommended
                        1 found this review helpful
                        Very easy to install. We decided to point the light upward because the light bulb covers go on p...
                        Very easy to install. We decided to point the light upward because the light bulb covers go on pretty tight and I didn't want to risk them falling off. I think it looks pretty good.
                        by
                        • DIY
                        • Recommended
                        2 found this review helpful
                        Worked and looks great.
                        Worked and looks great.
                        by
                        • Verified Purchase
                        • Recommended
                        1 found this review helpful
                        Easy to install. Puts out great light. Goes perfectly with my brushed nickel decor in my newly re...
                        Easy to install. Puts out great light. Goes perfectly with my brushed nickel decor in my newly remodeled bathroom!
                        by
                        • Verified Purchase
                        • Recommended
                        1 found this review helpful
                        The light fixture makes a great deal of difference in the room. The only thing i would say iscthe...
                        The light fixture makes a great deal of difference in the room. The only thing i would say iscthe poor design on how you secure the light covers.
                        by
                        • DIY
                        • Verified Purchase
                        • Recommended
                        These lights have a softening effect whether they are off or on. They are bright but do not over ...
                        These lights have a softening effect whether they are off or on. They are bright but do not over power. The band around the top of the sconce adds a classy look to finish off the clear and milky style of the sconce. I love these lights.
                        by
                        • Verified Purchase
                        • Recommended
                        The trim on the edge of the shade made these stand out among other lights.
                        The trim on the edge of the shade made these stand out among other lights.
                        by
                        • Verified Purchase
                        • Recommended
                        1 found this review helpful
                        Showing 1-30 of 844 reviews

                        Frequently Bought Together

                        ++
                        Price:
                        $5997

                        Compare Similar Vanity Lighting

                        current product
                        Truitt 14.2 in. 2-Light Brushed Nickel Modern Transitional Vanity with Frosted and Clear Edge Glass Shades
                        Evelyn 26.75 in. 3-Light Brushed Nickel Industrial Vanity with Clear Glass ShadesZane 12.5 in. 2-Light Brushed Nickel Industrial Vanity with Clear Seedy Glass ShadesHaven Collection 16 in. 2-Light Brushed Nickel Opal Glass Luxe Industrial Vanity Light
                        BrandHampton BayHome Decorators CollectionDesigners FountainProgress Lighting
                        NameTruitt 14.2 in. 2-Light Brushed Nickel Modern Transitional Vanity with Frosted and Clear Edge Glass ShadesEvelyn 26.75 in. 3-Light Brushed Nickel Industrial Vanity with Clear Glass ShadesZane 12.5 in. 2-Light Brushed Nickel Industrial Vanity with Clear Seedy Glass ShadesHaven Collection 16 in. 2-Light Brushed Nickel Opal Glass Luxe Industrial Vanity Light
                        Price
                        $7997
                        $9497
                        $10390
                        $12999
                        Ratings
                        (843)
                        (510)
                        (10)
                        (0)
                        Light Bulb Type IncludedNo Bulbs IncludedNo Bulbs IncludedNo Bulbs IncludedNo Bulbs Included
                        Number of Lights2 Light3 Light2 Light2 Light
                        Recommended Vanity Size (in.)16291518
                        StyleCoastal, Modern, TransitionalIndustrial, Modern
                        View ProductView ProductView ProductView Product