#1 Home Improvement Retailer

Customer Reviews for Luma Comfort 28 lbs. of Ice Day Countertop Clear Portable Ice Maker BPA Free Parts Perfect for Cocktails and Soda in Stainless Steel

Internet #205586063

Model #IM200SS

Store SKU #1001028746

  • FOR FAMILY HEALTH - Safe on BPA Free approved ice to use everyday
  • CRYSTAL CLEAR ICE - Restaurant quality clear ice cubes everyday
  • COMPACT DESIGN - Modern Portable ice maker fits on any countertop

Customer Reviews

  • 4.3
    out of 265 reviews
  • 84% recommend this product
Filter by:
Showing 1-30 of 265 reviews
Broke Quickly - Apparently Very Common
There's no doubt that NewAir's customer service is helpful and responsive, almost aggressively so, which is fantastic! I've discovered that you're sure to receive good customer service when shopping under the NewAir umbrella. That being said, the longevity and build quality of this ice maker leaves a lot to be desired. I was perfectly happy with mine for about 5 months (clear ice, pretty quiet, minimal space, etc) before the cubes started freezing into one big unbreakable chunk (I believe the problem is a broken sensor that handles the transition from ice creation to dispensing, as I can still do it manually. I was hoping to have it repaired but could not find an appliance shop that would have me and was only offered a replacement by NewAir after trashing mine (for $30 due to its refrigerant) and leaving a few reviews. You would think that posting nearly double the price of a comparibly sized competitors product would ensure a more resilient appliance, but instead you're paying for the year long warranty and speedy customer service as evidence by the other 300+ NewAir Google reviews regarding their ice makers. I was really hoping this was a fluke, but will need to throughly research before buying anything else from NewAir in the future. I'd hate to create this much waste and hassle for such a minor problem, and maybe that's just the throw away world we live in, but doesn't change that it's abhorrent, especially when you expect a quality product and not just quality service.
by
Response from newairpwrFeb 12, 2023
Hi There Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on your unit. I do apologize for the inconvenience you are currently facing with this product. Please give me a call at 855-963-9247 select customer service and ask for Alai. I will be happy to assist you with this matter. Please reach out to us so we can provide the best possible solution. Best Regards, Customer Care
    Doesn't break into cubes
    Overall disappointed. I decided on this because of superior "clear ice". It neither creates clear or magically longer lasting ice. It seems to have no insulation, not even as much a cheap cooler...its more like a plastic lunch box. The biggest problem I have is the function to make ice doesn't work properly..it does not seperate into individual cubes, they have to be broken off and sometimes the ice doesn't fall it just keeps building up into a solid block. The only way to fix is to turn off or pry off.
    by
    Response from newairpwrDec 2, 2022
    Hi There Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on your unit. I do apologize for the inconvenience you are currently facing with this product. We will be reaching out via email to provide further assistance or please give me a call at 855-963-9247 select customer service and ask for Camilla. I will be happy to assist you with this matter and provide the best possible solution. Best Regards, Customer Care
      Great ice maker.
      The ice maker on my Thermador refrigerator is always malfunctioning and after spending nearly 1,000 on repairs I purchased this unit. It's fabulous and the after service was prompt. Buy it!!
      by
      Response from newairpwrApr 20, 2022
      Thank you for the 5-star review and for posting your comments in regards to this product IM200SS. We highly appreciate your feedback. Thank you for choosing Newair.
        • Recommended
        Problems with ice making
        We bought this machine and we were very excited and loved the product. But then it started to freeze and instead of icecubes it made one block in the part where the water forms cubes. And it made a block of ice. We cleaned according to instructions but the problem would not go away.
        by
        Response from newairpwrApr 20, 2022
        Thank you for the 5-star review and for sharing your thoughts about the Luma comfort IM200SS.Thank you for choosing NewAir!
        • Verified Purchase
        Best Ice Maker I have ever had!
        I purchased this machine when we moved into a house with no Ice Maker. Rather than going through the whole routine of making a purchase for the refrigerator found at the rental home, we purchased The Luma Comfort IM200SS. What perfect purchase we made! We have been using the machine 2 to 3 times per week since March of 2018! No issues and starts making ice in about 15 minutes. We make enough to fill 2 1 gallon freezer bags, then it gets a break until later in the week. Even took the unit to a birthday party in Texas...everyone had cool drinks the entire day!! Great purchase!!
        by
        Response from newairpwrApr 20, 2022
        Thank you for posting your comments in regards to your IM200SS. We highly appreciate your feedback and we are also grateful for your trust in our brand. Thank you for choosing NewAir.
        • Verified Purchase
        Has been working well since we received a couple wks ago. Have noticed that some of the ice has n...
        Has been working well since we received a couple wks ago. Have noticed that some of the ice has not been crystal clear as of the last "batches". We only put filtered H2O in the machine. Hopefully this is an anomaly, as the clear ice asserted with this product was the main reason for buying this particular model ice maker.
        by
        • Verified Purchase
        • Recommended
        1 found this review helpful
        This ice maker is wonderful .... clear ice makes it pretty fast also portable
        This ice maker is wonderful .... clear ice makes it pretty fast also portable
        by
        • Verified Purchase
        • Recommended
        So far this product is working great. We had one over the past year and we loved it. But then o...
        So far this product is working great. We had one over the past year and we loved it. But then one day, after about one year, it started making giant clumps of ice instead of ice cubes. We had to buy this new one. Hoping for more than a year of wonderful little ice cubes for our home.
        by
        • Verified Purchase
        • Recommended
        Wow. I have forever ice cubes.
        Wow. I have forever ice cubes.
        by
        • DIY
        • Verified Purchase
        • Recommended
        When I received the product it had a few scratches on the side and the corner of the blue film wa...
        When I received the product it had a few scratches on the side and the corner of the blue film was ripped, this did not have any negative effects on it's performance. I would simply recommend that these should be inspected upon arrival at the store. The main product package was in a box, inside a larger box, into an even larger box, so although it was packed like a Russian doll it still managed to get damaged... I've had it for only a week or so and it starts up with a howling type noise I can hear throughout the house. I ignore it for 60 to 90 seconds and then all is OK. Considering returning, still undecided.
        by
        • Verified Purchase
        • Recommended
        I bought this Portable Freestanding Ice machine from Home Depot and just love it in our new offic...
        I bought this Portable Freestanding Ice machine from Home Depot and just love it in our new office space. I didnt want the hassel of connecting additional water lines and needed it to fit under our Cafe cabinets. It fit perfectly and is works great! Was easy to order online and I picked it up on my way home from work at the store. Continually, makes ice and would recommend it for any office or home. We love it and is a life savor when we host clients.
        by
        • Verified Purchase
        • Recommended
        This thing is a little powerhouse!!
        We absolutely love our ice machine. Living in Arizona, we constantly have water bottles to fill by day, and cocktail glasses to fill at night. :) Seriously, my family of 4 all have 40 oz water bottles that we fill with ice water each day, then we are icing various other teas and sodas through out the day..then a couple of us enjoy evening cocktails. This thing keeps up with the ice demand, no problem. We have had people over, and the ice machine just keeps pumping out the cubes. It really is a great machine, and well worth the money.
        by
          • Recommended
          Ice quality is superb. Makes new ice before you...
          Ice quality is superb. Makes new ice before you can finish your drink!
          by
          • Verified Purchase
          3 found this review helpful
          Produces good clear ice cubes but is noisy when making ice cubes. Delivery box was slightly damaged. There was no visible damage to ice maker and has been working for the past several months.
          by
          Response from NewAir TeamNov 16, 2023
          Thank you for the 4-star review and for posting your comments in regards to this product IM200SS. We highly appreciate your feedback. Thank you for choosing Newair. newair
          • Verified Purchase
          I would definitely buy this again.
          Very easy to use, I have it sitting on a mobile cart and create 5 lbs of ice while I am prepping for the week. The ice is clear and beautiful.
          by
          Response from newairpwrMar 1, 2023
          Thank you for the 5-star review and for posting your comments in regards to this product IM200SS. We highly appreciate your feedback and we are glad to hear you like the unit's features. Thank you for choosing Newair!
            • Recommended
            Great Product
            Found this ice machine recommended under Wirecutter and worked fantastic for a couple months. Had an issue with noise and the company replaced it quickly under warranty. Would definitely recommend to anyone
            by
            Response from newairpwrFeb 8, 2023
            Hi, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on your Newair IM200SS. I am happy to hear that you are pleased with our customer service provided. Thank You for choosing Newair!
              • Recommended
              Product makes great ice
              I do enjoy being able to use bottled water to make my clear ice!
              by
              Response from newairpwrFeb 5, 2023
              Thank you for the 5-star review, we appreciate your feedback and we are glad you enjoy using the unit IM200SS. Thank you for choosing Newair!
                • Recommended
                Great Customer Service
                I had a problem with my unit and NewAir's customer service took care of it immediately. Great products and great support.
                by
                Response from newairpwrJan 28, 2023
                Hi, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on your Newair Countertop IM200SS. I am happy to hear that you are pleased with our customer service provided. Thank You for choosing Newair!
                  • Recommended
                  Beautiful, Clear, Clean ICE!!
                  This Luma Ice Maker is GREAT! I have had several other ice makers, and this TOPS them all by far. The capacity is abundant, the ice is clean and clear, and the water tank is holds plenty. Also, the customer support team is kind and efficient. Thank you, Newair!
                  by
                  Response from newairpwrJan 7, 2023
                  Thank you for the 5-star review and for posting your comments in regards to this product IM200SS. We highly appreciate your feedback and we are glad to hear you are also pleased with the customer service that was provided. Thank you for choosing Newair!
                    • Recommended
                    by
                    • Verified Purchase
                    Good product. A bit large, and hard to move...
                    Good product. A bit large, and hard to move around so make sure you have a good spot for it that you can access the top easily to refill. Also keep in mind it requires some min clearances on sides and back. The ice comes out in large solid waffles, so requires that you break them up with an ice pick (or knife) before you use them.
                    by
                    Response from NewAir TeamDec 22, 2022
                    Thank you for posting your comments in regards to this Newair product IM200SS. We highly appreciate your feedback. Thank you for choosing Newair. newair
                    • Verified Purchase
                    Great ice, was very picky before settling in trying out...
                    Great ice, was very picky before settling in trying out this unit. So far I am incredibly pleased with the ease of use and quality of ice. Strong, clear cubes.
                    by
                    Response from NewAir TeamNov 16, 2022
                    Thank you for the 5-star review, we appreciate your feedback and we are glad you enjoy using the unit IM200SS. Thank you for choosing Newair! newair
                    • Verified Purchase
                    Best I've used
                    The Luma was my 3rd portable ice maker, having tried a couple of non-Newair, non-clear ice models before it. The Luma was easily the quietest of the three, which was a huge plus for me. The clear ice was also a nice upgrade over the cloudy ice that most other ice makers produce. The only con with this ice maker over others I've used is that the ice-making tray will get jammed up at times - Newair makes this simple to fix, simply press the button for 5 seconds, and it'll dethaw itself, but it does require regular monitoring. It also requires regular maintenance for cleaning, but so do all the others. I think it could be an ideal countertop ice maker if it had an autocleaning mechanism. I'd purchase another and would recommend Newair ice makers and other products I've tried to my friends. Support is great, too, should you have issues, so buy with confidence.
                    by
                    Response from newairpwrNov 15, 2022
                    Thank you for the 5-star review and for sharing your thoughts about your experience using your IM200SS. Thank you for choosing Newair!
                      • Recommended
                      Good While it Lasted
                      Great product until it broke. It did exactly what i wanted, and the ice is fast, cold and easily accessible. I think that the size is good, and upkeep isnt too bad. You need to keep water in it at all times in order for it to work.
                      by
                      Response from newairpwrNov 2, 2022
                      Hi There Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on your unit. I do apologize for the inconvenience you are currently facing with this product. Please give me a call at 855-963-9247 select customer service and ask for Camilla. I will be happy to assist you with this matter. Please reach out to us so we can provide the best possible solution. Best Regards, Customer Care
                        • Recommended
                        Works fine but I wish I bought something else
                        Hard to clean, has been forming limescale, starting to run vinegar through to see if that will work. Ice has been cloudy rather than clear. Also having issues with the ice not dropping and getting stuck, machine says ice is full when it's not.
                        by
                        Response from newairpwrOct 27, 2022
                        Hi There Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on your unit. I do apologize for the inconvenience you are currently facing with this product. We will be reaching out via email to provide further assistance or please give me a call at 855-963-9247 select customer service and ask for Camilla. I will be happy to assist you with this matter and provide the best possible solution. Best Regards, Customer Care
                          Use to love it
                          When we bought this in March 2022 we loved it! Great ice machine. Now its September 2022, the machine ices over the evaporator and does not drop the ice. It just keeps building up ice and not dropping it. We were told to unplug it, let it melt then try again. If it does the same thing we have to replace the machine. Disappointed.
                          by
                          Response from newairpwrSep 30, 2022
                          Hi There Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on your unit. I do apologize for the inconvenience you are currently facing with this product. We will be reaching out via email to provide further assistance or please give me a call at 855-963-9247 select customer service and ask for Camilla. I will be happy to assist you with this matter and provide the best possible solution. Best Regards, Customer Care
                            Great Ice For A Few Months
                            This unit made really great crystal clear ice for a few months then just completely stopped working. I notice this is a common scenario from the other reviews. I cleaned it regularly, according to the instructions. But it still failed. Important to note that support from this company is a complete joke. Just a waste of time. You'll never see the warranty honored. They don't even respond. Bottom line: expect to pay close to three hundred bucks for around 4 months of great quality ice.
                            by
                            Response from NewAir TeamJul 19, 2022
                            Hi There
                            Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on your unit. I do apologize for the inconvenience you are currently facing with this product. Please give me a call at 855-963-9247 select customer service and ask for Alai. I will be happy to assist you with this matter. Please reach out to us so we can provide the best possible solution. Best Regards, Customer Care newair
                              I highly recommend
                              I have nothing bad to say about this. My ice maker broke in my fridge. I turn this on in the morning and after about 3 hours I have filled the holder in my freezer. This is great for parties and just keeps making ice. I thought you would have to constantly add water, but it lasts a long time. No more filling ice trays!! Worth every penny.
                              by
                              Response from newairpwrJun 29, 2022
                              Thank you for the 5-star review and for sharing your thoughts about your experience using your IM200SS. Thank you for choosing Newair!
                              • Verified Purchase
                              • Recommended
                              I love my ice maker!
                              It makes crystal clear ice; we had a slight leak in ours, but the maintenance hotline was quick and responsive and was able to handle it for us!
                              by
                              Response from newairpwrMay 21, 2022
                              Awesome! I'm happy to hear that you are pleased with our customer service and thank you for posting your comments in regards to this product IM200SS. Thank you for choosing Newair!
                                • Recommended
                                Excellent customer service/ice maker
                                Unfortunately after almost 5 months of daily 'round the clock use, my machine stopped working but customer service was very easy to work with and quickly and effectively resolved the issue and sent me a replacement unit free of cost. I have no complaints. ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️
                                by
                                Response from newairpwrMay 7, 2022
                                Hi, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on your Newair Product IM200SS. I am happy to hear that you are pleased with our customer service provided. Thank you for choosing Newair!
                                  • Recommended
                                  Showing 1-30 of 265 reviews

                                  Frequently Bought Together

                                  +
                                  +
                                  Price:
                                  $249.99