#1 Home Improvement Retailer

Customer Reviews for Samsung 1.6 cu. ft. Over the Range Microwave in Stainless Steel

Internet #206847193

Model #ME16K3000AS

Store SKU #1001788199

  • Built-in lighting illuminates cooktop
  • 300 CFM ventilation fan quickly and quietly exhausts food odors
  • Blue LED digital display complements any kitchen decor

Customer Reviews

  • 3.8
    out of 588 reviews
  • 61% recommend this product
Filter by:
Showing 1-30 of 588 reviews
Fast heating and cooking. Easy settings. The range down light could be a little brighter, but doe...
Fast heating and cooking. Easy settings. The range down light could be a little brighter, but does have 2 settings and an eco feature to save electricity. We had some trouble installing it ourselves, finding the holes for the bolts, save yourself the headache and have someone professional install it for you.
by
  • Verified Purchase
  • Recommended
2 found this review helpful
It is a very basic microwave and has less features than our previous counter top microwave. Some ...
It is a very basic microwave and has less features than our previous counter top microwave. Some features are useless, like the pizza, veggies, cook and reheat. You are better off just entering the time you want and pressing start rather than figuring out how to using those auto functions. As an example, reheat, 1 is for a dinner plate, and starts a 4 minute cycle. We never have a full plate, and 30 seconds to 1 minute is fine for us. Cons: Vent fan is very noisy, and although it is two speed, those speeds are almost the same. On slow speed, it does not pull enough to pull all the steam or air. If I am cooking on the front burner on the stove, I noticed that some steam goes up the front of the microwave. Under microwave light of unknown wattage is very dim at best. It illuminates the cooktop and is better than none. Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Install, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design, Stylish. Recommend that you have it delivered and installed as you might not know what you are going to run into. We re-roofed a couple of years ago, and did not know some of the cedar shakes taken off, fell down the vend and held our old exhaust damper shut. The old vent was full of grease, which made a mess when we took it down. This was our first over the stove microwave, and we really enjoy its convenience.
by
    • Recommended
    15 found this review helpful
    Another purchase experience with HOME DEPOT
    the range microwave is great and was delivered as scheduled
    by
    • Verified Purchase
    • Recommended
    10 found this review helpful
    Love the eco-mode!
    Works great! Very even heat. The eco-mode is awesome! Would definitely recommend paying the delivery people to install. Was a little harder than we had thought it would be.
    by
    • DIY
    • Verified Purchase
    • Recommended
    2 found this review helpful
    Good basic microwave for the $$
    Great microwave at a cheap price, good looking , I'm recommended
    by
      • Recommended
      Works Great
      Bought this for my basement and use the ductless setup, works great, had to flip the motor around for ductless as per instructions, have no complaint
      by
        • Recommended
        4 found this review helpful
        Handle Broke Off Door
        I bought the microwave 2 years ago. It mostly works good, but the key pad is dark and could use a light. Then this morning the handle broke. It just busted away from the bottom plastic support. I don't know if they sell handles or even a new door, or is this trash and I have to replace it.
        by
        Response from Samsung CareDec 28, 2023
        Hello, We know how having a microwave with a dark keypad and broken handle feels. We suggest contacting us via the options below to speak with a live representative to better assist you with what occurs with the unit. 1. Facebook Messenger: http://m.me/samsungsupport 2. Twitter: https://twitter.com/messages/compose?recipient_id=18768513 3. Samsung Community: https://us.commuity.samsung.com/t5/Samsung-Community/ct-p/us 4. Customer Care: 1-800-726-7864 (1-800-SAMSUNG) Thank you. -Angelica
          Lasted 2 years :(
          Lasted 2 years now not working :( Wish I’d gotten a different one.
          by
          Response from SEA CareNov 28, 2023
          Hello there, We understand the frustration you feel not having a working microwave. Let's get this back on track. Below is a link to help you diagnose if your microwave stopped working. Samsung microwave is not working https://www.samsung.com/us/support/troubleshooting/TSG01207757/#samsung-microwave-is-not-heating-or-has-stopped-working Should you need more assistance, please feel free to get back to us via the following options: 1. Facebook Messenger: http://m.me/Samsungsupport 2. Twitter: https://twitter.com/messages/compose?recipient_id=18768513 3. Samsung Community: https://us.community.Samsung.com/t5/Samsung-Community/ct-p/us When you message us, please provide us with this reference number (1146571877) to help our team pull up your information. Have a great day. ^Camille
            Does not last long.
            Lasted 2 years and then it died. Buy a different one, do not buy this one.
            by
            Response from SEA CareNov 28, 2023
            Hello there, We understand how you feel regarding your microwave. We want to speak to you directly to gather more information about your microwave and see how we can effectively assist you. Please feel free to get back to us via the following options: 1. Facebook Messenger: http://m.me/samsungsupport 2. Twitter: https://twitter.com/messages/compose?recipient_id=18768513 3. Samsung Community: https://us.community.samsung.com/t5/Samsung-Community/ct-p/us When you message us, please provide us with this reference number (1146571954) to help our team pull up your information. Have a great day. ^Camille
              Poor choice
              Stopped working after about a year when warranty expired
              by
              Response from SEA CareNov 27, 2023
              Hello there, We understand how important it is to have a working microwave. Let us get this back on track. Below is a link to help you diagnose if your microwave stopped working. Samsung microwave is not heating or has stopped workinghttps://www.samsung.com/us/support/troubleshooting/TSG01207757/#samsung-microwave-is-not-heating-or-has-stopped-working Should you need more assistance, please feel free to get back to us via the following options: 1. Facebook Messenger: http://m.me/Samsungsupport 2. Twitter: https://twitter.com/messages/compose?recipient_id=18768513 3. Samsung Community: https://us.community.Samsung.com/t5/Samsung-Community/ct-p/us When you message us, please provide us with this reference number (1146566426) to help our team pull up your information. Have a great day. ^Camille
                Low quality
                Poor quality product,repaired twice and broken again
                by
                Response from SEA CareNov 20, 2023
                Giorgio, we want to speak to you directly and get more information about your microwave for better assistance. Please feel free to get back to us via the following options: 1. Facebook Messenger: http://m.me/Samsungsupport 2. Twitter: https://twitter.com/messages/compose?recipient_id=18768513 3. Samsung Community: https://us.community.Samsung.com/t5/Samsung-Community/ct-p/us When you message us, please provide us with this reference number (1146545137) to help our team pull up your information. Have a great day. ^Camille
                  Good for the money
                  I bought this 2 years ago and unfortunately, it has stopped working. It had its good life, but the ventilation system could have been better. I will be forced to purchase another Samsung to match the rest of my appliances. I do hope this one last longer.
                  by
                  Response from SEA CareNov 16, 2023
                  Jaztena, we know that microwave provides convenience in preparing food. Let us get this back on track. Below is a link to help you diagnose if the microwave stopped working. Samsung microwave is not heating or has stopped working. https://www.samsung.com/us/support/troubleshooting/TSG01207757/#samsung-microwave-is-not-heating-or-has-stopped-working Should you need more assistance, please feel free to get back to us via the following options: 1. Facebook Messenger: http://m.me/Samsungsupport 2. Twitter: https://twitter.com/messages/compose?recipient_id=18768513 3. Samsung Community: https://us.community.Samsung.com/t5/Samsung-Community/ct-p/us When you message us, please provide us with this reference number (1146529502) to help our team pull up your information. Have a great day. ^Camille
                    • Recommended
                    Lifespan of only 2 years. Broke down promptly
                    Broke down right at the 2-yr mark. Took me $200 to repair it, I should have bought a new one!
                    by
                    Response from SEA CareNov 13, 2023
                    Hi there, We are glad to know your microwave is now working. Should you need support in the future, please don't hesitate to reach out to us at www.Samsung.com or by calling 1-800-7267864 (1800-SAMSUNG) Have a great day. ^Camille
                      Hazard
                      Hazard turns on by itself. Turns on when door opens
                      by
                      Response from SEA CareNov 9, 2023
                      Hello there, We understand the urgency of this review. Allow us to help you right away. Below is a link for steps on what must be done if the microwave turns on itself. Please click on the embedded word. Microwave turns on by itself without any interaction https://www.samsung.com/us/support/troubleshooting/TSG01001966/#microwave-starts-by-itself-with-no-interaction Should you need more assistance, please feel free to get back to us via the following options: 1. Facebook Messenger: http://m.me/Samsungsupport 2. Twitter: https://twitter.com/messages/compose?recipient_id=18768513 3. Samsung Community: https://us.community.Samsung.com/t5/Samsung-Community/ct-p/us When you message us, please provide us with this reference number (1146505036) to help our team pull up your information. Have a great day. ^Camille
                        Not good for more than 1.5 years or less!!!
                        1.5 years old and barely used and started glitching and then stopped altogether. How can heating water and melting butter shorten the life of a microwave? I won’t be buying another Samsung product especially after I have read all the problems on social media.
                        by
                        Response from Customer careSep 11, 2023
                        Hi there, Thank you for choosing Samsung for your microwave needs. We're saddened that you no longer have the product and would love to work with you in the future. Please visit www.Samsung.com or one of our partners to explore products that better fit your needs. Have a great day, -Ernest-
                          Awesome microwave
                          [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] Extremely happy with this microwave. It came with the home I purchased and it is one of the best I ever had.
                          by
                            • Recommended
                            Buttons don't work
                            The buttons quit working after about three years. It seems to be in the touch pad. Looked up the part and the panel is as expensive as a new microwave.
                            by
                            Response from Samsung Customer CareMay 3, 2023
                            Ronald, maintaining your microwave's buttons in their pristine condition is everything we want you to have. Let's go ahead and provide you with some tips for cleaning the control panel. If the control panel will not respond or only certain buttons work, clean the control panel or try a power cycle. Please click the link below for tips. The microwave control panel does not respond: https://www.samsung.com/us/support/troubleshooting/TSG01001961/ We have also included a link to your microwave's user manual. See page 25 for cleaning the control panel and page 12 for child lock: https://downloadcenter.samsung.com/content/UM/201712/20171227164806882/2017.12.22_ME16K3000A_AA_EN-MES.pdf Should you need support in the future, please feel free to get back to us via the following options: 1. Facebook Messenger: http://m.me/Samsungsupport 2. Twitter: https://twitter.com/messages/compose?recipient_id=18768513 3. Samsung Community: https://us.community.Samsung.com/t5/Samsung-Community/ct-p/us Please provide us with this reference number, 1145734502, to help our team pull up your information when you message us. Have a great day. -John
                              Does not heat up
                              I bought this 2 years ago, I don't use it much as I travel. Now it does not heat, everything sounds like it is working but does not heat up.
                              by
                              Response from SEA CareApr 24, 2023
                              Hi There, The microwave's heating efficiency is crucial. Maximize your unit's cooking ability by following the recommended links below. The microwave won't heat if it does not have enough clearance or ventilation. If the microwave turns on but does not heat, checking a few settings and the installation will help resolve the issue. Samsung microwave is not heating or has stopped working: https://www.samsung.com/us/support/troubleshooting/TSG01001963/ You may also watch this video about "How to fix range and microwave problems": https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=N064z8CQ8XA Should you require further assistance in the future, please feel free to get back to us via the following options: 1. Facebook Messenger: http://m.me/samsungsupport 2. Twitter: https://twitter.com/messages/compose?recipient_id=18768513 3. Samsung Community: https://us.community.samsung.com/t5/Samsung-Community/ct-p/us When you message us, please provide us with this reference number 1145700351, to help our team pull up your information. Have a great day! ^Chrystel
                                Stopped heating less than 3 years after moving in.
                                Purchased a new home in May 2020. This unit worked well from June 2020 until February 2023 - less than 3 years. While the manufacturer's warranty expired in Sept 2020, there is a 10year warranty on the magnetron - which seems to be the culprit. The unit gives off a loud buzzing noise during operation, but does not heat.
                                by
                                Response from Samsung CareFeb 20, 2023
                                Having a perfectly functioning microwave to cook food is vital, BRJ_in_PC. We're here to help! Microwaves make all kinds of sounds while running. Most of these are normal and should not be a cause for concern. Food and other material in the microwave are typically the sounds you're hearing. This guide covers the most common sounds and why they happen. Samsung microwave is making unusual noises: https://www.samsung.com/us/support/troubleshooting/TSG01001968/ If your microwave is not working or has stopped working, there could be a few reasons. We recommend checking the link below for more details. Samsung microwave is not working: https://www.samsung.com/us/support/troubleshooting/TSG01207757/ You may also refer to page 28 of the user manual for other solutions when the noise is too loud. https://downloadcenter.samsung.com/content/UM/201712/20171227164806882/2017.12.22_ME16K3000A_AA_EN-MES.pdf Should you need more assistance, please feel free to get back to us via the following options: 1. Facebook Messenger: http://m.me/samsungsupport 2. Twitter: https://twitter.com/messages/compose?recipient_id=18768513 3. Samsung Community: https://us.commuity.samsung.com/t5/Samsung-Community/ct-p/us Please provide us with this reference number (1145474345) to help our team pull up your information when you message us. Thank you! -Angelica
                                  Don't buy. Trash
                                  I would give it a zero. In less than 30 days the turntable stopped working. I exchanged it. In less than 6 months the newer one stopped heating. Samsung sent a technician. He replaced several things. This morning it started sparking and quit.
                                  by
                                  Response from Customer CareMar 31, 2023
                                  Hi Jeff, Thank you for choosing Samsung for your needs. We're saddened that you no longer have the product and would love to work with you in the future. Please visit www.samsung.com or one of our partners to explore products that better fit your needs. Have a great day! ^Chrystel
                                    Buttons on panel stopped working
                                    had for a bit more than a year and some of the buttons on panel stopped working. this included the enter/start button. now it doesn't work at all because of this. only has a 1yr warranty so i have to buy new one. i will not buy samsung appliances again.
                                    by
                                    Response from Samsung CareNov 30, 2022
                                    Hi Lizzun, Thank you for your insight about your microwave. Here is a link to "Microwave control panel does not respond": https://www.samsung.com/us/support/troubleshooting/TSG01001961/ For reference, I shared this link/video about: How to clean a Samsung microwave: https://www.samsung.com/us/support/answer/ANS00062285/ Best ways to clean your microwave: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hCsRi0XC_zQ The below link is the user manual for your model. Turn the page 25 (Cleaning and maintaining your microwave oven): https://downloadcenter.samsung.com/content/UM/201712/20171227164806882/2017.12.22_ME16K3000A_AA_EN-MES.pdf Should you need more assistance, please feel free to get back to us via the following options: 1. Facebook Messenger: http://m.me/samsungsupport 2. Twitter: https://twitter.com/messages/compose?recipient_id=18768513 3. Samsung Community: https://us.community.samsung.com/t5/Samsung-Community/ct-p/us When you message us, give them this number (1145198960), which will help our team pull up your information. Have a great day. Melardo
                                      Simply adequate
                                      [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] In a world with many microwaves to choose from, this is probably the most average of average microwaves available. There is nothing to set it above the others but simultaneously, I have nothing negative to say about it.
                                      by
                                      Response from Samsung CareNov 23, 2022
                                      Hi There, Thank you very much for your review on our products! Should you need support in the future, please don't hesitate to reach out to us at www.samsung.com or by calling 1-800-7267864 (1800-SAMSUNG). Have a great day. ^Chrystel
                                        Stopped working after 2 years.
                                        stopped working after 2 years and we dont even use it that much.
                                        by
                                        Response from Samsung CareOct 12, 2022
                                        Thank you for the review, Stephanie. Let's go ahead and check some settings on your microwave. The microwave requires a separate branch circuit single grounded outlet of at least 15A and a max of 20A. A 120 VAC, 60 Hz. If your microwave is not working or has stopped working, there could be a few reasons. A microwave that is not turning on or is turning off by itself is usually caused by overheating or a low power supply. Please see these links for details. Samsung microwave is not working https://www.samsung.com/us/support/troubleshooting/TSG01207757/ Samsung microwave is not heating or has stopped working https://www.samsung.com/us/support/troubleshooting/TSG01001963/ How to fix range and microwave problems | Samsung US https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=N064z8CQ8XA Should you ever need more assistance, please feel free to get back to us via the following options: 1. Facebook Messenger: http://m.me/samsungsupport 2. Twitter: https://twitter.com/messages/compose?recipient_id=18768513 3. Samsung Community: https://us.community.samsung.com/t5/Samsung-Community/ct-p/us When you message us, please provide us with this reference number (1145024015) to help our team pull up your information. Thank you for being a valued customer of Samsung. Have a great day. ^Camille
                                          Move on
                                          Stopped working after 2 years. The people who installed it also dented the front a little which drove me crazy.
                                          by
                                          Response from Samsung CareOct 12, 2022
                                          Hi Stephanie, Thank you for taking the time to share your overall experience with the product. We would like to share a troubleshooting guide for the microwave not turning on. Samsung microwave is not working: https://www.samsung.com/us/support/troubleshooting/TSG01207757/ To better assist you and to collect more details, please reach us with the following options: 1. Facebook Messenger: http://m.me/samsungsupport 2. Twitter: https://twitter.com/messages/compose?recipient_id=18768513 3. Samsung Community: https://us.community.samsung.com/t5/Samsung-Community/ct-p/us You may provide this reference number (1145024241) to help our team pull up your information. Thank you for choosing Samsung. Have a great day. -Trisha-
                                            broke after 9 months
                                            doesn't heat anymore, runs with no heating of food or liquid.
                                            by
                                            Response from Samsung CareSep 20, 2022
                                            Hi Ben, Thank you for bringing this to our attention. I see you have some concerns with the microwave not heating anymore. A microwave that is not starting or heating is usually in Demo mode. It is commonly used in retail showrooms to demonstrate microwaves without activating their magnetrons. It will also take longer for the microwave to heat if it doesn't have enough clearance or ventilation. Samsung microwave is not heating or has stopped working https://www.samsung.com/us/support/troubleshooting/TSG01001963/ Should you need more assistance, please feel free to get back to us via the following options: 1. Facebook Messenger: http://m.me/Samsungsupport 2. Twitter: https://twitter.com/messages/compose?recipient_id=18768513 3. Samsung Community: https://us.community.Samsung.com/t5/Samsung-Community/ct-p/us Please provide them with this number (1144939221) when you message us to help our team pull up your information. Have a great day. ^Charles
                                              Breaks within a year or two
                                              As other reviews have mentioned, this microwave broke for us after 1.5 years. Not worth the investment for an appliance that only lasts that long.
                                              by
                                              Response from SamsungAug 18, 2022
                                              Hi Kate37!

                                              Thank you for reaching out to us. I sincerely apologize for the inconvenience if your Samsung Microwave broke, which was less than ideal. We are always here to help.

                                              This appliance must be installed by a qualified technician or service company and follow specific Grounding Instructions to avoid electric shock, fire, an explosion, problems with the product, or injury. Refer to the user manual on page 6: https://downloadcenter.samsung.com/content/UM/201712/20171227164806882/2017.12.22_ME16K3000A_AA_EN-MES.pdf.

                                              Here is a link for possible reasons why the microwave broke: https://www.samsung.com/us/support/search/?query=MICROWAVE+BROKE&referrerPageUrl=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.samsung.com%2Fus%2Fsupport%2F.

                                              Should you need more assistance, please feel free to get back to us via the following options:

                                              1. Facebook Messenger: http://m.me/samsungsupport
                                              2. Twitter: https://twitter.com/messages/compose?recipient_id=18768513
                                              3. Samsung Community: https://us.community.samsung.com/t5/Samsung-Community/ct-p/us

                                              Reference Number: 1144815645

                                              Have a great day.

                                              Melardo Samsung
                                                do not buy
                                                Do not recommend it hasn’t even been two years since purchasing and it stop working
                                                by
                                                Response from SamsungJun 10, 2022
                                                Hello,

                                                Thank you for reaching out and sharing your feedback about your Samsung microwave. I understand you're having an issue with your microwave as it stopped working in less than 2 years. We do apologize for the inconvenience this has caused you. We are here to help.

                                                To help you with this, I am providing this link https://www.samsung.com/us/support/troubleshooting/TSG01001963/ to guide you if your microwave is not heating or has stopped working.

                                                In case of repair or replacement, please take note of this link https://www.samsung.com/us/support/service/warranty/ME16K3000AS/AA for the warranty coverage of your product.

                                                Another link you may find useful is this one https://www.samsung.com/us/support/search/?query=microwave&referrerPageUrl=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.samsung.com%2Fus%2Fsupport%2F as it has all the troubleshooting guides, links, videos, and other resources you might need for your Samsung microwave.

                                                Should you need more assistance, please feel free to get back to us via the following options:

                                                1. Facebook Messenger: http://m.me/samsungsupport
                                                2. Twitter: https://twitter.com/messages/compose?recipient_id=18768513
                                                3. Samsung Community: https://us.community.samsung.com/t5/Samsung-Community/ct-p/us

                                                Your reference number is 1144587603.

                                                -Noraina Samsung
                                                  • Recommended
                                                  DO NO PURCHASE
                                                  This microwave broke in 2 years and certainly not the experience one would expect. Unable to get a replacement as it is out of warranty. Bad experience to say the least
                                                  by
                                                  Response from Samsung CareJun 9, 2022
                                                  Hello Liz D, Thank you for reaching out and sharing your feedback about your Samsung microwave. I understand you're having an issue with your microwave as it's broken after 2 years of use and you're unable to get replacement as it's out of warranty. We apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused you. The experience is not what we expect from our customers. I am providing this link https://www.samsung.com/us/support/service/warranty/ME16K3000AS/AA for the warranty coverage of your microwave. You can also visit this link https://www.samsungparts.com/Default.aspx if you need to purchase parts for your Samsung microwave. Another link you may find useful is this one https://www.samsung.com/us/support/search/?query=microwave&referrerPageUrl=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.samsung.com%2Fus%2Fsupport%2F as it has all the troubleshooting guides, links, videos, and other resources you might need for your Samsung microwave. Should you need more assistance, please feel free to get back to us via the following options: 1. Facebook Messenger: http://m.me/samsungsupport 2. Twitter: https://twitter.com/messages/compose?recipient_id=18768513 3. Samsung Community: https://us.community.samsung.com/t5/Samsung-Community/ct-p/us Your reference number is 1144583213. -Noraina
                                                    Worked great until it didn't
                                                    I got the dreaded SE error code after only a couple of years. I found many online tutorials on how to fix this and unfortunately none worked. I took the entire microwave apart, cleaned all parts and made it feel almost if as new. Assuming the motherboard went bad. I had a Samsung dryer go bad a little after a year and the matching washer is giving me major problems as well so safe to say that I am done with all Samsung electronics. I am 0-3 with different Samsung products.
                                                    by
                                                    Response from SamsungMay 3, 2022
                                                    Hello TampaUser,

                                                    Thank you for reaching out. I realize your experience has been less than ideal, and I understand how frustrated you have been. We value all our customers' feedback and can sympathize with your issue with your Samsung-1-6-cu-ft-Over-the-Range-Microwave-in-Stainless-Steel

                                                    For a faster resolution of your concern, you may reach us via the following details.

                                                    1. Facebook Messenger: http://m.me/samsungsupport
                                                    2. Twitter: https://twitter.com/messages/compose?recipient_id=18768513
                                                    3. https://us.community.samsung.com/t5/Samsung-Community/ct-p/us
                                                    4. Phone Customer Care: 1-800-726-7864 (1-800-SAMSUNG)

                                                    Thank you for choosing Samsung.

                                                    Reference number:
                                                    1144466660

                                                    ^Ross Samsung
                                                      loved it for 4 years
                                                      not sure the life span of the product but it lasted 4 years before it stopped heating up the food. everything else worked expect that part.
                                                      by
                                                        • Recommended
                                                        Showing 1-30 of 588 reviews