#1 Home Improvement Retailer

Customer Reviews for Henry 287 Solar-Flex White Acrylic Elastomeric Reflective Roof Coating 4.75 gal. (16-Piece)

Internet #202220180

Model #HE287SF072

Store SKU #1001397720

  • Lowers energy usage and cooling costs by up to $2,400
  • Reflects sun's heat and harmful UV rays
  • Extends roof life and is backed by a 7 year warranty

Customer Reviews

  • 4.4
    out of 471 reviews
  • 87% recommend this product
Filter by:
Showing 1-30 of 471 reviews
Was very easy to apply.. Great quality for the price
Was very easy to apply.. Great quality for the price
by
  • Verified Purchase
  • Recommended
Not worth my time or money
After a couple of weeks, the paint eroded off in San Francisco rains. Save yourself the hassle of recleaning, and use silicone sealer paint.
by
Response from Henry CompanyMay 17, 2019
Raysol-we are sorry to hear you were not satisfied with this product. While we realize it is an inconvenience, we urge you to contact our product support department at 1-800-486-1278 so that we may assist you with this further. We apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused and thank you for putting your trust in the Henry Company and The Home Depot.
    3 found this review helpful
    Covers easily, dries fast, lowers the heat inside my camper on sunny days, and sealed all small l...
    Covers easily, dries fast, lowers the heat inside my camper on sunny days, and sealed all small leaks.
    by
    Response from Henry CompanyJul 17, 2018
    Damon-Thank you for leaving a 5 star review on this product and for putting your trust in the Henry Company and The Home Depot.
    • Verified Purchase
    • Recommended
    7 found this review helpful
    Good product easy to use!
    Good product easy to use!
    by
    Response from Henry CompanyMay 30, 2018
    Mikeb-Thank you for leaving a review on this product and for putting your trust in the Henry Company and The Home Depot.
    • Verified Purchase
    • Recommended
    1 found this review helpful
    Applied yesterday. Hoping for it to meet expectations. Easily enough rolled with thick nap roller...
    Applied yesterday. Hoping for it to meet expectations. Easily enough rolled with thick nap roller and long handle.
    by
    Response from Henry CompanyMay 3, 2018
    DannyB-Thank you for providing us with a review on this product and for putting your trust in the Henry Company and The Home Depot.
    • Verified Purchase
    • Recommended
    1 found this review helpful
    I have use many roofing products. The preforms as well or better as products twice as much.
    I have use many roofing products. The preforms as well or better as products twice as much.
    by
    Response from Henry CompanyOct 27, 2016
    Kujo-Thank you for taking the time out of your day to write this review for us and thank you for putting your trust in the Henry Company and The Home Depot.
    • Verified Purchase
    • Recommended
    So far so good
    2 coats for my 2 cars garage. More than enough. Waiting for the Big Rain!
    by
    Response from Henry CompanyAug 12, 2016
    Mary-Please keep in mind this coating is NOT intended to stop leaks. The white acrylic roof coatings are for reflectivity purposes only. Thank you for putting your trust in the Henry Company and The Home Depot.
    • DIY
    • Verified Purchase
    • Recommended
    7 found this review helpful
    Works as Advertised!
    I have central air in my mobile home, but the air conditioner couldn't cool the inside to a temperature that was cooler than the outdoor temperature without running continuously. I applied Henry's 287 to the roof of my mobile home today and for the first time this summer, the inside of my mobile home is cooler than the outside temperature! My air conditioner is running much less and the mobile home stays cool. Only time will tell if the product will last the advertised 7 years, but at this point, i have no reason to doubt that claim. Had I known this product worked, I probably would've used Henry's 887, which has a lifetime warranty.
    by
    Response from Henry CompanyJun 9, 2016
    NYrich-It is great to hear your home is so much more comfortable now and thank you so much for taking the time to write a review!
      • Recommended
      16 found this review helpful
      Waste of money
      24 hrs after application, not expecting rain, but it did rain and most of the product just ran off the roof, down the gutter and all over my driveway. White paint everywhere. It was dry to the touch last night and back to liquid state again today. It was applied to clean almost flat asphalt roll roofing, as per directions Not impressed and not sure what to do now.
      by
      • DIY
      38 found this review helpful
      Looks nice, should save on utility bill
      After just a little practice, it applies easily and looks very nice on our double wide mobile home. Well worth the work
      by
      • DIY
      • Verified Purchase
      • Recommended
      65 found this review helpful
      Does the job.
      I have a rubberized roof and the initial coating wore off a long time ago,. The roof was long over due for some kind of treatment. I chose this coating, the SOLARFLEX WHITE ROOF COATING, based on several of the reviews. It seemed to work in terms of reducing the internal temperature of the rooms, so I thought I would give it a try and I'm very glad I did. Not only does it work but it was a breeze to apply. I used a roller with a 3/4" nap. If you just follow directions and realize you do not have to be able to eat off the roof in terms of cleanliness, you will do a great job. You might have a question in your own mind in terms of coverage, but the coverage is excellent. I did 3 coats on 1000 sq ft and used about 10.5 gallons, two pales worth and some from a third. If you lay it on thick, as you go, you might be able to get away with doing 2 coats, but I took it easy, not knowing what kind of coverage I was going to get. The rooms are definitely cooler and I feel I extended my roof life in the process, which makes it an excellent product in terms of usefulness and value. By the way, I never had to mix it, which was a bonus and it took about 1.5 hours per 500 sq ft to apply the first coat and about 1 hour to apply each of the last 2 coats. You can easily do 2 coats in a day. For your own sake, don't do it in the middle of the day, though.
      by
      • DIY
      • Recommended
      139 found this review helpful
      Well worth the Money, Great Product
      I had to use (10) 5gal containers to coat my 1400sgft flat roof in Monrovia, CA, I applied three coats and it does make a big difference, not only is it a lot cooler but it much easier to wash it down the leaves that collect in some of the corners. I could plug the drains in the roof fill it with water and have a 3 foot deep pool on my roof, great for floating around on on a hot summer day, how cool would that be? It would also make a good advertising space that could be seen by passing helicopters and airplanes.
      by
      • DIY
      • Recommended
      120 found this review helpful
      Didn't work for us at all.
      by
      Response from Henry CompanyMar 14, 2024
      Unfortunately your brief comment did not explain the nature of your issue or provide any details regarding your displeasure with Henry 287 Solar-Flex. We would encourage you to please reach out to us at jszymanski@henry.com or productsupport@henry.com so that we can discuss the reason for your complaint.
      • Verified Purchase
      Wasn't as thick of a paint as I was hoping for but it got the job done
      by
      Response from Henry CompanyFeb 28, 2024
      Henry 287 Solar-Flex White Acrylic Elastomeric Reflective Roof Coating is a good economy grade roof coating that reflects more than 85% of damaging UV rays and resists chalking, and mildew. Henry 287 will continue to reflect the sun's heat and UV rays for 7 years. Thank you for putting your trust in the Henry Co and the Home Depot.
      • Verified Purchase
      went on smoothly good coverage
      by
      Response from Henry CompanyFeb 28, 2024
      Mikeco, the ability to be applied easily and smoothly is a distinguishing feature of Henry 289 White Roofing Sealant. But don' t let its easy application fool you. Henry 289 is tough leak stopper that will not crack, craze or loose adhesion when applied to a smooth, clean and dry surface. Henry 289 is formulated for repairing and preventing roof leaks prior to coating with an acrylic reflective coating. Overall, Henry 289 just makes your job easier. Thank you for putting your trust in the Henry Co and the Home Depot.
      • Verified Purchase
      by
      • Verified Purchase
      by
      • Verified Purchase
      by
      • Verified Purchase
      Product worked as advertised
      by
      Response from Henry CompanyDec 7, 2023
      Axie, we are glad that you were happy with the results that Henry 287 Solar-Flex roof coating provided. Henry 287 is our economy grade acrylic white roof coating that reflects more than 85% of damaging UV rays, resists de-bonding, chalking and is mildew and stain resistant along with a 7 year warranty. Thank you for putting your trust in the Henry Co and the Home Depot.
      • Verified Purchase
      by
      • Verified Purchase
      by
      • Verified Purchase
      by
      • Verified Purchase
      by
      • Verified Purchase
      Do your self a favor and Just don’t waist your money one this crap.
      by
      Response from Henry CompanyOct 19, 2023
      Frs, it is unfortunate that you had a less than satisfactory experience with Henry 287 Solar-Flex White roof coating. You did not specify what the issue was with the product and why you were unhappy with it's performance. Henry 287 is a water based white acrylic roof coating that must have temperatures above 50 degrees, (day and night), for 24 to 48 hours to cure properly. Please contact us directly at jszymanski@henry.com so that we may address your issue in more detail. Thank you for your comments.
      • Verified Purchase
      Roof coating was easy to apply using a big soft brush and dries fast, will buy again.
      by
      Response from Henry CompanyOct 13, 2023
      BernieR, Henry 287 Solar-Flex really is easy to apply. While it can be brushed on it is suggested that it be applied with a deep-pile roller. If this is a first time application two coats must be applied. Thank you for putting your trust in the Henry Co and the Home Depot.
      • Verified Purchase
      Does the job well. Excellent coverage I have used this for the last 30 years it always m
      by
      Response from Henry CompanyOct 12, 2023
      Marcia, we are so happy to hear that you are so pleased with the performance of Henry 287 Solar-Flex acrylic white Roof Coating. Your use of Henry 287 for 30 years speaks well for a product that consistently performs like you expect it to. We appreciate your loyalty to Henry products and want to thank you for putting your trust in the Henry Co and the Home Depot.
      • Verified Purchase
      I just purchased a trailer that had been neglected. I rolled on 2 coats and it looks great.
      by
      Response from Henry CompanyOct 12, 2023
      Greg, Henry 287 Solar-Flex is a really good economy grade white roof coating with terrific reflective capabilities. Henry 287 is an Energy Star certified product that will keep your roof cool as well as lower the temperature inside of the structure. Thank you for putting your trust in the Henry Co and the Home Depot.
      • Verified Purchase
      by
      • Verified Purchase
      by
      • Verified Purchase
      by
      • Verified Purchase
      Showing 1-30 of 471 reviews

      Frequently Bought Together

      Top Rated
      +
      +
      Price:
      $1414.95

      Compare Similar Items

      current item

      Coating Base

      Acrylic

      Acrylic

      Asphalt

      Acrylic

      Surface Recommended

      Coated Roofs, Metal, Metal Roofs, Rubberrized-Asphalt, Rubberrized-Mastic

      Coated Roofs, Metal, Metal Roofs, Rubberrized-Asphalt, Rubberrized-Mastic

      Coated Roofs, Coated Roofs, Coated Roofs, Coated Roofs, Coated Roofs, Coated Roofs, Coated Roofs, Metal, Metal, Metal, Metal, Metal, Metal, Metal, Metal Roofs, Metal Roofs, Metal Roofs, Metal Roofs, Metal Roofs, Metal Roofs, Metal Roofs, Rubberrized-Asphalt, Rubberrized-Asphalt, Rubberrized-Asphalt, Rubberrized-Asphalt, Rubberrized-Asphalt, Rubberrized-Asphalt, Rubberrized-Asphalt, Rubberrized-Mastic, Rubberrized-Mastic, Rubberrized-Mastic, Rubberrized-Mastic, Rubberrized-Mastic, Rubberrized-Mastic, Rubberrized-Mastic

      Coated Roofs, Concrete Roofs, Concrete/Masonry, Metal, Metal Roofs, Mobile Home Roof, Rv Roof, TPO Membrane, Trailer Roof, Wood

      Application Method

      Brush On, Roll On, Spray On

      Brush On, Roll On, Spray On

      Brush On, Brush On, Brush On, Brush On, Brush On, Brush On, Brush On, Spray On, Spray On, Spray On, Spray On, Spray On, Spray On, Spray On

      Brush On, Roll On, Spray On, Squeegee

      Features

      Cool Roof Certified, Corrosion Resistant, Extreme Heat, High Reflectivity, Mildew Resistant, Rust Resistant

      Cool Roof Certified, Corrosion Resistant, Extreme Heat, High Reflectivity, Mildew Resistant, Rust Resistant

      Cool Roof Certified, Cool Roof Certified, Cool Roof Certified, Cool Roof Certified, Cool Roof Certified, Cool Roof Certified, Cool Roof Certified, Corrosion Resistant, Corrosion Resistant, Corrosion Resistant, Corrosion Resistant, Corrosion Resistant, Corrosion Resistant, Corrosion Resistant, Extreme Heat, Extreme Heat, Extreme Heat, Extreme Heat, Extreme Heat, Extreme Heat, Extreme Heat, High Impact/Hail Resistant, High Impact/Hail Resistant, High Impact/Hail Resistant, High Impact/Hail Resistant, High Impact/Hail Resistant, High Impact/Hail Resistant, High Impact/Hail Resistant, High Reflectivity, High Reflectivity, High Reflectivity, High Reflectivity, High Reflectivity, High Reflectivity, High Reflectivity, High Wind Resistant, High Wind Resistant, High Wind Resistant, High Wind Resistant, High Wind Resistant, High Wind Resistant, High Wind Resistant, Ice and Water Shield, Ice and Water Shield, Ice and Water Shield, Ice and Water Shield, Ice and Water Shield, Ice and Water Shield, Ice and Water Shield, Impact Resistant, Impact Resistant, Impact Resistant, Impact Resistant, Impact Resistant, Impact Resistant, Impact Resistant, Rust Resistant, Rust Resistant, Rust Resistant, Rust Resistant, Rust Resistant, Rust Resistant, Rust Resistant, Water Resistant, Water Resistant, Water Resistant, Water Resistant, Water Resistant, Water Resistant

      Mildew Resistant, Waterproof

      Approximate Coverage Per Gallon (sq. ft)

      100

      100

      50

      100