#1 Home Improvement Retailer

Customer Reviews for Henry 287 Solar-Flex White Acrylic Elastomeric Reflective Roof Coating 4.75 gal. (16-Piece)

Internet #202220180

Model #HE287SF072

Store SKU #1001397720

  • Lowers energy usage and cooling costs by up to $2,400
  • Reflects sun's heat and harmful UV rays
  • Extends roof life and is backed by a 7 year warranty

Customer Reviews

  • 4.4
    out of 470 reviews
  • 87% recommend this product
Filter by:
Showing 1-30 of 470 reviews
Keep note you will have to buy quite a bit...
Keep note you will have to buy quite a bit since this lays out very thin and to get good coverage you need to go over it a few passes
by
Response from Henry CompanyOct 5, 2022
FRNKIE, coverage of Henry acrylic white roof coatings varies with the porosity of the roof surface, how rough it is and how dry it is. When applying acrylic roof coatings you always have to apply two coats. The coverage rate for each coat will be approximately 475 Square Feet per 4.75 gallon bucket for each coat.
  • Verified Purchase
.
Happy customer, great coverage and easy application.
by
Response from Henry CompanyOct 3, 2022
Great to see your very enthusiastic comments. All of our Henry acrylic white coatings offer superior reflectivity and long lasting savings on your energy bill. Thank you for putting your trust in the Henry Co and the Home Depot.
  • Verified Purchase
  • Recommended
Rating provided by a verified purchaser...
Rating provided by a verified purchaser
by
Response from Henry CompanySep 22, 2022
Henry acrylic white coatings are easy to use by the do-it-yourselfer but they are formulated for the pro. Each of our three acrylic white coatings deliver superior reflectivity and protection against the damaging UV rays of the sun. Thank you for putting your trust in the Henry Co and the Home Depot.
  • Verified Purchase
Rating provided by a verified purchaser...
Rating provided by a verified purchaser
by
Response from Henry CompanySep 14, 2022
We regret that we cannot determine the nature of your dissatisfaction with one of our acrylic roof coatings without a comment. Whenever a customer has an issue with one of our products we always strongly encourage them to contact us directly at jszymanski@henry.com or call our Product Support line at 800-523-0268.
  • Verified Purchase
Worked as advertised....
Worked as advertised.
by
Response from Henry CompanySep 8, 2022
Thank you for the comment. Henry's mission is to make products that work like you expect them to. Henry white acrylic coatings are all highly reflective and lower interior temperatures. They are durable and depending on which one you use can last up to 12 year. Thank you for putting your trust in the Henry Co and the Home Depot.
  • Verified Purchase
by
  • Verified Purchase
by
  • Verified Purchase
by
  • Verified Purchase
great stuff for Florida flat roofs...
great stuff for Florida flat roofs
by
  • Verified Purchase
by
  • Verified Purchase
I've used this product for years and have always been...
I've used this product for years and have always been happy with the results. I really does do what it says it should.
by
Response from Henry CompanyJul 21, 2022
Henry 287 Solar-Flex is an economical white acrylic roof coating that reflects more than 85% of damaging UV rays and will last 7 years. Also available and with longer lasting reflective warranties are Henry 587 Dura-Brite with a 10 year warranty and Henry 687 Enviro-White with a 12 year warranty and dirt pick-up resistance so it stays whiter longer. Thank you for putting your trust in the Henry Co and the Home Depot.
  • Verified Purchase
The paint is a lower price and is a good...
The paint is a lower price and is a good
by
Response from Henry CompanyJul 21, 2022
Hairo, we are glad to see your satisfaction with our Henry acrylic white elastomeric roof coatings. All of our acrylic roof coatings are highly efficient at reflecting the sun's heat and harmful UV rays. Cooling down the roof saves you money on your energy bills and reduces the temperature inside your building. Thank you for putting your trust in the Henry Co and the Home Depot.
  • Verified Purchase
Rating provided by a verified purchaser...
Rating provided by a verified purchaser
by
Response from Henry CompanyJul 12, 2022
Henry white acrylic roof coatings are offered with a good, better, best rating. Henry 287 Solar-Flex is a good roof coating with a 7 year warranty. Henry 587 Dura-Brite is our thickest acrylic white coating with a 10 year warranty and Henry 687 Enviro-White is our longest lasting acrylic white coating with a 12 year warranty, contains the Dirt Pick-up Resistance formula so that the roof almost cleans itself and stays whiter longer. Thank you for putting your trust in the Henry Co and the Home Depot.
  • Verified Purchase
used on my camper roof
not too sure about this product, it came out of the can very thin. the coating has the consistency of water. i applied the first coat and was very disapointed, it was very thin and hardly coated the roof at all. in the end, i had to apply 6 coates, to get decent coverage. theres got to be a better product out there. i wasnt impressed at all. we will see how long it holds up.
by
Response from Henry CompanyJul 6, 2022
Newt, we cannot determine what Henry acrylic white coating that you used on your roof from the comments that you gave. None of our acrylic white coatings should be as thin as water. When stirred up the coatings should be pretty thick when applied. We strongly urge you to contact us directly at jszymanski@henry.com or call our Product Support line at 800-523-0268 so that we can determine what the cause of your issue was. Thank you for using Henry products.
    We did the roof, just in time. Rain this...
    We did the roof, just in time. Rain this am.
    by
    Response from Henry CompanyJun 23, 2022
    PennyLee, we are glad that you had a pleasant experience with the application of one of our acrylic white coatings. Henry acrylic white coatings offer good weather protection and solar reflectivity but are not waterproof. Acrylic coatings need a slight pitch so that water does not pond on the roof. Any area that has ponding should be coated with Henry 887 TropiCool 100% Silicone roof coating. Henry 887 is waterproof. Thank you for putting your trust in the Henry Co and the Home Depot.
    • Verified Purchase
    Very good product, Will extend the life of any roof....
    Very good product, Will extend the life of any roof. Thank you!
    by
    Response from Henry CompanyJun 23, 2022
    Nice review, Henry acrylic white coatings are made to reflect the harmful UV rays of the sun so that they don't destroy the roof surface. They reduce the amount of expansion and contraction on a roof to prevent leaks from starting around roof penetrations and save you money on your energy bill by cooling the interior of the building. Thank you for putting your trust in the Henry Co and the Home Depot.
    • Verified Purchase
    This coating is great. So far I`ve applied it to...
    This coating is great. So far I`ve applied it to our doublewide roof and a shingled 3 car garage roof. Also have painted the exterior of 2 garages with it. Going to paint the outside mobile walls using it. It lowers the outside to inside wall temp by 25 degrees. It did use more on the 1st coat of the shingled roof but 2nd coat was easy. Saved thousands by not tearing off the old shingles and doing a reroof. plus this is keeping the garage much cooler.
    by
    Response from Henry CompanyJun 20, 2022
    B Dovr, we are glad that you are happy with our product. Sometimes people do apply one of our acrylic white coatings to a shingled roof, however, we never recommend coating shingles and we do not warranty that application. Thank you for putting your trust in Henry products and the Home Depot.
    • Verified Purchase
    This product seems to work good. A special roller...
    This product seems to work good. A special roller should be recommended next to the product for better distribution. I used a broom because the paint roller that I used did not transfer the product to my roof correctly.
    by
    Response from Henry CompanyJun 10, 2022
    Dan, we recommend a 3/4" to a 1" nap roller to apply Henry 887 TropiCool 100% Silicone roof coating. When coating the roof the best way to get uniform coverage is to measure the roof in grids for coverage. Example: if you want coverage of 2-gallons per 100 square feet then the bucket would cover 250 square feet. Measure out a 10' X 25' grid, pour the contents of the bucket in the area like a snake pattern, then roll the product out and the roller will spread the product very nicely. Thank you for putting your trust in the Henry Co and the Home Depot.
    • Verified Purchase
    This an excellent product which will extend the life of...
    This an excellent product which will extend the life of a common shingle roof. This is best when one cleans the existing shingles and then applies this product as a thick coating. It will extend the life of your shingle roof up to about ten (10) to (15) years depending on the hot dry weather in yuor geographical area. The only thing that onehas to be aware is that this product is expensive and costs about $95.00 for the 4 gallon tub (including tax),. In my humble opinion, my only personal criticizm is that it is a bit pricy. Mr. Eugenio Amaya Jr.
    by
    Response from Henry CompanyJun 6, 2022
    Geno, we do not recommend the application of any of our acrylic or silicone roof coatings over shingles of any kind. The curing process of any roof coatings is a slight shrinkage of the product as the carrier, (water in this case), evaporates. The stresses of shrinkage could cause curling of the shingles. The only Henry product made exclusively for shingles is Henry 812 RoofSaver. RoofSaver can extend the life of older shingles up to five years.
    • Verified Purchase
    by
    • Verified Purchase
    1 found this review helpful
    Works great. Very effective. Easy to put on....
    Works great. Very effective. Easy to put on.
    by
    • Verified Purchase
    Weather will be the judge.
    So far its standing up to the heat, 90's. If it holds up in the cold of winter, I will come back and change my rating.
    by
    Response from Henry CompanyMay 13, 2022
    Stoney, we are unable to tell from your comments which of our acrylic white coatings that you applied to your roof. However, all of our acrylic white coatings are tested to be flexible to a temperature low of zero degrees F. Thank you for the comments and for putting your trust in the Henry Co and the Home Depot.
    • Verified Purchase
    • Recommended
    by
    • Verified Purchase
    Went on easy, dropped temperature in the trailer. A/C not...
    Went on easy, dropped temperature in the trailer. A/C not running all the time
    by
    Response from Henry CompanyApr 27, 2022
    Patrick, thank you for those strong words of endorsement for our Henry white acrylic roof coatings. All of our acrylic white coatings are super reflective and will save money on your energy bills. Thank you for putting your trust in the Henry Co and the Home Depot.
    • Verified Purchase
    Great product
    Works better than expected. Roof temperature prior of applying it was 162 degrees, 10 minutes after applying was 91 degrees, inside temperature is at least 15 degrees difference than before. Worth every penny.
    by
    Response from Henry CompanyApr 26, 2022
    Alex, great to hear from you. Henry acrylic white roof coatings are highly reflective and not only reduce the heat on the roof and the interior but also protect the roof from the destruction caused by the sun's UV rays. We are glad that you were so satisfied with with our roof coating that you awarded it five stars. Thank you for putting your trust in the Henry Co and the Home Depot.
      • Recommended
      Doesn't work as well as GAF Roof mate..HD screwed upby...
      Doesn't work as well as GAF Roof mate..HD screwed upby no longer having GAF Roofmate
      by
      Response from Henry CompanyApr 21, 2022
      Jkristen, we are not sure which Henry acrylic white roof coating that you used so it is hard to comment on your review. All three of our white acrylic coatings, Solar-Flex with a 7 year warranty, Dura-Brite with a 10 year warranty or Enviro-White with a 12 year warranty are excellent coatings and offer the customer a good, better, best choice for their roof.
      • Verified Purchase
      by
      • Verified Purchase
      by
      • Verified Purchase
      by
      • Verified Purchase
      by
      • Verified Purchase
      Showing 1-30 of 470 reviews

      Frequently Bought Together

      Top Rated
      +
      +
      Price:
      $141495

      Compare Similar Roof Coatings

      current product
      Top Rated287 Solar-Flex White Acrylic Elastomeric Reflective Roof Coating 4.75 gal. (16-Piece)
      Exclusive555 Fibered Aluminum Reflective Roof Coating 4.75 gal. (16-Piece)5 Gal. White Maximum-Stretch Rubber and Acrylic Reflective Roof Coating (Pallet of 12)4.75 Gal. Flat Roof Coat-n-Seal Liquid Rubber Coating (9-Pallet)
      BrandHenryHenryAmesGardner
      Name287 Solar-Flex White Acrylic Elastomeric Reflective Roof Coating 4.75 gal. (16-Piece)555 Fibered Aluminum Reflective Roof Coating 4.75 gal. (16-Piece)5 Gal. White Maximum-Stretch Rubber and Acrylic Reflective Roof Coating (Pallet of 12)4.75 Gal. Flat Roof Coat-n-Seal Liquid Rubber Coating (9-Pallet)
      Price
      $141495
      /pallet
      $145131
      /pallet
      $225392
      /pallet
      $311782
      /pallet
      Ratings
      (468)
      (426)
      (45)
      (3)
      Coating BaseAcrylicAsphaltAcrylicSilicone
      Application MethodBrush On, Roll On, Spray OnBrush On, Brush On, Brush On, Brush On, Brush On, Brush On, Brush On, Spray On, Spray On, Spray On, Spray On, Spray On, Spray On, Spray OnBrush On, Roll On, Spray On, SqueegeeBrush On, Roll On, Spray On
      Surface RecommendedCoated Roofs, Metal, Metal Roofs, Rubberrized-Asphalt, Rubberrized-MasticCoated Roofs, Coated Roofs, Coated Roofs, Coated Roofs, Coated Roofs, Coated Roofs, Coated Roofs, Metal, Metal, Metal, Metal, Metal, Metal, Metal, Metal Roofs, Metal Roofs, Metal Roofs, Metal Roofs, Metal Roofs, Metal Roofs, Metal Roofs, Rubberrized-Asphalt, Rubberrized-Asphalt, Rubberrized-Asphalt, Rubberrized-Asphalt, Rubberrized-Asphalt, Rubberrized-Asphalt, Rubberrized-Asphalt, Rubberrized-Mastic, Rubberrized-Mastic, Rubberrized-Mastic, Rubberrized-Mastic, Rubberrized-Mastic, Rubberrized-Mastic, Rubberrized-MasticCoated Roofs, Concrete Roofs, Concrete/Masonry, Metal, Metal Roofs, Mobile Home Roof, Rv Roof, TPO Membrane, Trailer Roof, WoodConcrete/Masonry, Metal, Metal Roofs, Mobile Home Roof, TPO Membrane
      Approximate Coverage Per Gallon (sq. ft)1005010070
      FeaturesCool Roof Certified, Corrosion Resistant, Extreme Heat, High Reflectivity, Mildew Resistant, Rust ResistantCool Roof Certified, Cool Roof Certified, Cool Roof Certified, Cool Roof Certified, Cool Roof Certified, Cool Roof Certified, Cool Roof Certified, Corrosion Resistant, Corrosion Resistant, Corrosion Resistant, Corrosion Resistant, Corrosion Resistant, Corrosion Resistant, Corrosion Resistant, Extreme Heat, Extreme Heat, Extreme Heat, Extreme Heat, Extreme Heat, Extreme Heat, Extreme Heat, High Impact/Hail Resistant, High Impact/Hail Resistant, High Impact/Hail Resistant, High Impact/Hail Resistant, High Impact/Hail Resistant, High Impact/Hail Resistant, High Impact/Hail Resistant, High Reflectivity, High Reflectivity, High Reflectivity, High Reflectivity, High Reflectivity, High Reflectivity, High Reflectivity, High Wind Resistant, High Wind Resistant, High Wind Resistant, High Wind Resistant, High Wind Resistant, High Wind Resistant, High Wind Resistant, Ice and Water Shield, Ice and Water Shield, Ice and Water Shield, Ice and Water Shield, Ice and Water Shield, Ice and Water Shield, Ice and Water Shield, Impact Resistant, Impact Resistant, Impact Resistant, Impact Resistant, Impact Resistant, Impact Resistant, Impact Resistant, Rust Resistant, Rust Resistant, Rust Resistant, Rust Resistant, Rust Resistant, Rust Resistant, Rust Resistant, Water Resistant, Water Resistant, Water Resistant, Water Resistant, Water Resistant, Water ResistantMildew Resistant, WaterproofCool Roof Certified
      Fire Rating (UL 790)No Rating AvailableNo Rating AvailableNo Rating AvailableNo Rating Available
      Roofing Product TypeReflective Roof CoatingReflective Roof CoatingReflective Roof CoatingReflective Roof Coating
      View ProductView ProductView ProductView Product