#1 Home Improvement Retailer

Customer Reviews for Henry 287 Solar-Flex White Acrylic Elastomeric Reflective Roof Coating 4.75 gal. (16-Piece)

Internet #202220180

Model #HE287SF072

Store SKU #1001397720

  • Lowers energy usage and cooling costs by up to $2,400
  • Reflects sun's heat and harmful UV rays
  • Extends roof life and is backed by a 7 year warranty

Customer Reviews

  • 4.4
    out of 468 reviews
  • 87% recommend this product
Filter by:
Showing 1-30 of 468 reviews
Not all leaks are gone after 2 coats so we still need to work on the roof!
by
Response from Henry CompanyAug 10, 2023
Carren, acrylic roof coatings such as Henry 287 Solar-Flex are not designed to stop leaks. White acrylic coatings are designed to reflect the sunlight and protect the roof from the destructive rays of the sun and to cool the roof so the interior of the structure is cooler. All leaks should be addressed with a leak patching material prior to coating the roof. Thank you for putting your trust in the Henry Co and the Home Depot.
  • Verified Purchase
by
  • Verified Purchase
by
  • Verified Purchase
Covers in one thick coat. Excellent bonding. Great Product!!
by
Response from Henry CompanyJul 20, 2023
Stevie J, thank you for the review! We encourage doing two coats with Elastomerics to create multiple layers of protection. As well as using two coating for Henry warranty.
  • Verified Purchase
20 Fahrenheit of difference from the hottest spot to the coldest, I use on the Aluminum gazebo roof. I used a roller print .
by
Response from Henry CompanyJun 28, 2023
JOSE, you are absolutely right, the difference in temperature is so amazing. Our Henry white acrylic coatings will all reflect 86% to 88% of the sun's rays resulting in a cooler roof and a roof that is protected from the sun's damaging UV rays. By coating your roof you will extend it's service life for many years to come. Thank you for putting your trust in the Henry Co and the Home Depot.
  • Verified Purchase
Excellent product at a reasonable price. Easy application, plus...
Excellent product at a reasonable price. Easy application, plus the (dried) residual coating peels cleanly from the 5 gallon bucket. I'm always in need of another bucket. Thank you.
by
Response from Henry CompanyJun 23, 2023
TIMO, it sounds like you were pleased with one of our acrylic white coatings all the way around. All Henry acrylic white coatings are professional grade quality, easy to apply and give excellent performance. Thank you for putting your trust in the Henry Co and the Home Depot.
  • Verified Purchase
by
  • Verified Purchase
by
  • Verified Purchase
Henry elastomeric is perfect for my roof. We have used...
Henry elastomeric is perfect for my roof. We have used this product for many years. I like that the price was pretty decent for these days. I feel my roof is ready for anything without leaks.
by
Response from Henry CompanyMay 25, 2023
Gail, we are pleased that you are happy with the results of coating your roof with one of our Henry acrylic white coatings. From our economy grade coating Solar-Flex 287, our mid grade and thickest coating Dura-Brite 587, to our premium white coating Enviro-White 687, each one delivers just what you need for your roof. Thank you for your trust in the Henry Co and the Home Depot.
  • Verified Purchase
covers more than it says
I used one 5 gallon bucket to cover 700 sq ft, top of a 40 ft container which was 40 foot by 8 foot
by
Response from Henry CompanyMay 19, 2023
JoeD, we are happy that you were so satisfied with one of our acrylic white coatings. Roof coatings differ from paints though, in that they are applied to a recommended mil thickness in order to repel and prevent the penetration of UV rays. A 700 square foot area that is being coated for the first time would require 2.8 or (3) buckets of acrylic white coating. The coverage rate of each bucket is 500 square feet and two coats are required in order to seal pin holes. Thank you for putting your trust in the Henry Co and the Home Depot.
    • Recommended
    by
    • Verified Purchase
    I'm not Gavin! Fix your app!!!! I keep...
    I'm not Gavin! Fix your app!!!! I keep getting receipts in my son's name, which may be a problem with the IRS if they ever audit me. And it makes it hard if I need to return an item. I've alerted this issue over 20 times in store, with management, online, in your chats, and by phone and you never fix it! Fix it!
    by
    • Verified Purchase
    Not sure what I was expecting. But seems much thicker...
    Not sure what I was expecting. But seems much thicker than it looks when applied. Applying a primer coat beforehand is advisable. I managed to get two coats on a 12x60 mobile home with one five-gallon bucket.
    by
    Response from Henry CompanyMay 18, 2023
    We cannot determine from you comments which of our acrylic white coatings that you used to coat your roof with. All of our Henry white coatings, Henry 287 Solar-Flex, 587 Dura-Brite and 687 Enviro-White have the same coverage rate which is 500 square feet per 4.75 gallon bucket. No primer is recommended to be used with our acrylic coatings. Thank you for putting your trust in the Henry Co and the Home Depot.
    • Verified Purchase
    don't buy
    recoated a roof that was leaking and it's like nothing was done.
    by
    Response from Henry CompanyMay 12, 2023
    NACHO, we are sorry that you were not happy with one of our acrylic white coatings. Henry acrylic white coatings are not waterproof and should not be applied to stop leaks. Henry acrylic white coatings are designed to do two things on your roof; reflect the harmful UV rays of the sun so they don' damage the roofing material and to lower the temperature on the roof and the interior of the dwelling. If you have a leaking roof you always need to address the leaks prior to the application of a roof coating. Thank you for your comments.
      by
      • Verified Purchase
      by
      • Verified Purchase
      Kind of expensive. Unused product doesn't keep well after opened....
      Kind of expensive. Unused product doesn't keep well after opened.
      by
      Response from Henry CompanyFeb 1, 2023
      Henry white acrylic reflective elastomeric roof coatings are water based and as such need to be stored with the lid on tight, if the entire bucket has not been used initially. It should be stored in the same manner as paint. The curing process is evaporation so air must be kept from the product to keep it from drying out. Thank you for your comments and for putting your trust in the Henry Co and the Home Depot.
      • Verified Purchase
      RV roof coating
      I used this product 4 years ago and it lasted till this year....instructions say it will last 2 years. With the big rains this year it's time for recoat. I pressure washed the roof and taped the sides to prevent over the sides. Two coats on a 36 foot motorhome and viola new roof....lowers temp in summer. Good product I highly recommend.
      by
      Response from Henry CompanyJan 30, 2023
      Patrick, we are pleased that you are satisfied with the white acrylic roof coating that you applied. Henry acrylic white roof coatings do a great job of cooling the interior of a structure and protecting the roof surface from the sun's damaging UV rays. Thank you for putting your trust in the Henry Co and the Home Depot.
        • Recommended
        Henry White Acrylic elastic roofing.
        This stuff is simple to use, easy directions, can be rolled on or sprayed on. Bright white reflects uv rays and heat by 72%. In today's world of insane costs, Henry's costs have went up very little, at 85.00 a 5 gal bucket it is a deal! If you are looking to do a roof and need a good product that stands up to its name, Henry brand Acrylic elastic roofing is what you want!
        by
        Response from Henry CompanyJan 11, 2023
        Wow, that is a very strong testimonial for the great attributes of Henry white roof coatings. All three of our acrylic white roof coatings, Henry 287 Solar-Flex, Henry 587 Dura-Brite and Henry 687 Enviro-White, are all great products to reflect the sun's damaging UV rays, cool the roof and the interior of the structure. They are very easy to apply and are professional grade products. Thank you for putting your trust in the Henry Co and the Home Depot.
          • Recommended
          by
          • Verified Purchase
          by
          • Verified Purchase
          Simple roof repair
          We really love this stuff as it is easy to apply on our semi-flat roof and it works into cracks and crevices quickly and easily. It is thick enough to fill gaps. We've tried other brands and find them to be runny and sometimes hard to control
          by
          Response from Henry CompanyNov 17, 2022
          Needak, thanks for the strong endorsement or our acrylic white coatings. While they are not meant to be leak stoppers they do offer a weather protection and you are right, our white acrylic coatings are thicker and easy to apply. Thank you for putting your trust in the Henry Co and the Home Depot.
          • Verified Purchase
          • Recommended
          Excellent
          We have applied this to our flat roof several times and usually about once every couple years and it's so far does a great job.
          by
          Response from Henry CompanyNov 18, 2022
          John, we can't tell from the comments exactly which Henry acrylic white coating you applied. But we are very happy that you are very happy with our products. Thank you for putting your trust in the Henry Co and the Home Depot.
          • Verified Purchase
          • Recommended
          by
          • Verified Purchase
          used
          used before no problems
          by
          Response from Henry CompanyOct 24, 2022
          F pratt, unfortunately we are having difficulty determining the nature of your problem with one of our acrylic white roof coatings. We urge you to contact us directly at jszymanski@henry.com so that we can see if the issue was an adhesion problem, reflectivity problem, a ponding water issue, an application issue etc. Please contact us so that we can figure out why the coating did not perform up to your expectations.
          • Verified Purchase
          Multiple benefits
          Easy application over existing composition shingles, keeps shingles from lifting in strong wind, notice significant cooling benefit.
          by
          Response from Henry CompanyOct 14, 2022
          Gordan, even though we are gratified that you are happy with the results you received with one of our Henry acrylic white roof coatings, we do not recommend using them to coat over shingles. Henry acrylic white coatings are formulated to be applied to flat or low slope roofs. Coating over shingles may cause them to curl or crack over time.
          • Verified Purchase
          • Recommended
          This was easy to apply to my RV. We will see in time if it lasts through winter
          Great product easy to apply
          by
          Response from Henry CompanyOct 14, 2022
          Igochoa, Henry acrylic reflective elastomeric roof coatings are all formulated to give you great protection from the sun's damaging UV rays. They also offer good weather protection, longevity and will save you money on your energy bills. Thank you for putting your trust in the Henry Co and the Home Depot.
          • Verified Purchase
          • Recommended
          So it was easy to put on and it's gonna work great I can't wait till it rains
          It went on easy and it's gonna protect my roof when it rains
          by
          Response from Henry CompanyOct 14, 2022
          Rev300, the application of Henry acrylic roof coatings is so easy just like you said. Henry acrylic coatings offer great solar reflectivity and good weather protection for your roof. Once you coat your roof with a Henry roof coating you can expect great longevity and a cooler interior. Thank you for putting your trust in the Henry Co and the Home Depot.
          • Verified Purchase
          • Recommended
          Keep note you will have to buy quite a bit...
          Keep note you will have to buy quite a bit since this lays out very thin and to get good coverage you need to go over it a few passes
          by
          Response from Henry CompanyOct 5, 2022
          FRNKIE, coverage of Henry acrylic white roof coatings varies with the porosity of the roof surface, how rough it is and how dry it is. When applying acrylic roof coatings you always have to apply two coats. The coverage rate for each coat will be approximately 475 Square Feet per 4.75 gallon bucket for each coat.
          • Verified Purchase
          .
          Happy customer, great coverage and easy application.
          by
          Response from Henry CompanyOct 3, 2022
          Great to see your very enthusiastic comments. All of our Henry acrylic white coatings offer superior reflectivity and long lasting savings on your energy bill. Thank you for putting your trust in the Henry Co and the Home Depot.
          • Verified Purchase
          • Recommended
          Showing 1-30 of 468 reviews

          Frequently Bought Together

          Top Rated
          ++
          Price:
          $141495

          Compare Similar Roof Coatings

          current product
          Top Rated287 Solar-Flex White Acrylic Elastomeric Reflective Roof Coating 4.75 gal. (16-Piece)
          Top Rated555 Fibered Aluminum Reflective Roof Coating 4.75 gal. (16-Piece)5 Gal. White Maximum-Stretch Rubber and Acrylic Reflective Roof Coating (Pallet of 12)4.75 Gal. Flat Roof Coat-n-Seal Liquid Rubber Coating (9-Pallet)
          BrandHenryHenryAmesGardner
          Name287 Solar-Flex White Acrylic Elastomeric Reflective Roof Coating 4.75 gal. (16-Piece)555 Fibered Aluminum Reflective Roof Coating 4.75 gal. (16-Piece)5 Gal. White Maximum-Stretch Rubber and Acrylic Reflective Roof Coating (Pallet of 12)4.75 Gal. Flat Roof Coat-n-Seal Liquid Rubber Coating (9-Pallet)
          Price
          $141495
          /pallet
          $145131
          /pallet
          $225392
          /pallet
          $311782
          /pallet
          Ratings
          (468)
          (426)
          (45)
          (3)
          Coating BaseAcrylicAsphaltAcrylicSilicone
          Application MethodBrush On, Roll On, Spray OnBrush On, Brush On, Brush On, Brush On, Brush On, Brush On, Brush On, Spray On, Spray On, Spray On, Spray On, Spray On, Spray On, Spray OnBrush On, Roll On, Spray On, SqueegeeBrush On, Roll On, Spray On
          Surface RecommendedCoated Roofs, Metal, Metal Roofs, Rubberrized-Asphalt, Rubberrized-MasticCoated Roofs, Coated Roofs, Coated Roofs, Coated Roofs, Coated Roofs, Coated Roofs, Coated Roofs, Metal, Metal, Metal, Metal, Metal, Metal, Metal, Metal Roofs, Metal Roofs, Metal Roofs, Metal Roofs, Metal Roofs, Metal Roofs, Metal Roofs, Rubberrized-Asphalt, Rubberrized-Asphalt, Rubberrized-Asphalt, Rubberrized-Asphalt, Rubberrized-Asphalt, Rubberrized-Asphalt, Rubberrized-Asphalt, Rubberrized-Mastic, Rubberrized-Mastic, Rubberrized-Mastic, Rubberrized-Mastic, Rubberrized-Mastic, Rubberrized-Mastic, Rubberrized-MasticCoated Roofs, Concrete Roofs, Concrete/Masonry, Metal, Metal Roofs, Mobile Home Roof, Rv Roof, TPO Membrane, Trailer Roof, WoodConcrete/Masonry, Metal, Metal Roofs, Mobile Home Roof, TPO Membrane
          Approximate Coverage Per Gallon (sq. ft)1005010070
          FeaturesCool Roof Certified, Corrosion Resistant, Extreme Heat, High Reflectivity, Mildew Resistant, Rust ResistantCool Roof Certified, Cool Roof Certified, Cool Roof Certified, Cool Roof Certified, Cool Roof Certified, Cool Roof Certified, Cool Roof Certified, Corrosion Resistant, Corrosion Resistant, Corrosion Resistant, Corrosion Resistant, Corrosion Resistant, Corrosion Resistant, Corrosion Resistant, Extreme Heat, Extreme Heat, Extreme Heat, Extreme Heat, Extreme Heat, Extreme Heat, Extreme Heat, High Impact/Hail Resistant, High Impact/Hail Resistant, High Impact/Hail Resistant, High Impact/Hail Resistant, High Impact/Hail Resistant, High Impact/Hail Resistant, High Impact/Hail Resistant, High Reflectivity, High Reflectivity, High Reflectivity, High Reflectivity, High Reflectivity, High Reflectivity, High Reflectivity, High Wind Resistant, High Wind Resistant, High Wind Resistant, High Wind Resistant, High Wind Resistant, High Wind Resistant, High Wind Resistant, Ice and Water Shield, Ice and Water Shield, Ice and Water Shield, Ice and Water Shield, Ice and Water Shield, Ice and Water Shield, Ice and Water Shield, Impact Resistant, Impact Resistant, Impact Resistant, Impact Resistant, Impact Resistant, Impact Resistant, Impact Resistant, Rust Resistant, Rust Resistant, Rust Resistant, Rust Resistant, Rust Resistant, Rust Resistant, Rust Resistant, Water Resistant, Water Resistant, Water Resistant, Water Resistant, Water Resistant, Water ResistantMildew Resistant, WaterproofCool Roof Certified
          Fire Rating (UL 790)No Rating AvailableNo Rating AvailableNo Rating AvailableNo Rating Available
          Roofing Product TypeReflective Roof CoatingReflective Roof CoatingReflective Roof CoatingReflective Roof Coating
          View ProductView ProductView ProductView Product