#1 Home Improvement Retailer

Customer Reviews for Fiskars PowerLever 1-1/8 in. Cut Capacity Steel Saw Blade 15 in. Fiberglass Pole 14 ft. Tree Pruner

Internet #300412758

Model #393981-1002

Store SKU #1002141723

  • Fiberglass pole is lightweight yet strong
  • Secure double-locking system ensures extended pole stays put
  • Prunes vegetation with a maximum thickness of 1-1/8 in.

Customer Reviews

  • 4.4
    out of 3,043 reviews
  • 80% recommend this product
Filter by:
Showing 1-30 of 3,043 reviews
Think about this
I had 70 year old expandable tree pruner. That was done, so I thought I would replace it with a new one. First off who designed the head unit so you can't store the blade facing down while using the pruner. If you want use the pruner either take off the blade or run it up. Which I could do except my garage ceiling is 8 foot so the blade comes off. Speaking of using the head holds the blade with a 1/8" nub to hold the blade in place really not even at 1/2" stud.
by
Response from FiskarsProductExpertNov 20, 2023
Thank you for your feedback on the PowerLever 14' Tree Pruner, Paul. We appreciate you taking the time to share with us. Fiskars
    3 found this review helpful
    Cheap quality for premium price
    The drilled out hole broke first time using it. Seems like the fiber glass is not a good quality 😕
    by
    Response from FiskarsProductExpertOct 23, 2023
    Thank you for your feedback on the PowerLever 14' Tree Pruner. We appreciate you taking the time to share with us. Please contact the warranty department regarding this issue (warranty@fiskars.com). Fiskars
      3 found this review helpful
      nice tool, but I got a used one!!!
      This pruner is HUGE! I'm a fairly short person (5'2")... and it was a tad overwhelming, but... it was pretty easy to use... the instructions aren't very explicit, though I didn't really know how to use it when it arrived; however, there's a great video on the Home Depot website as well as YouTube, in regards to how it's used - very helpful! I must say, there's a LOT of string attached to it, so you can clip branches (so much string, I can't even get a grip on the handle that's attached to the string at the end LOL)... I used that function almost immediately... Cuts extremely easy! Took out those hanging branches on my roof in a jiffy! This particular pruner is also very lightweight very nice - this made it very easy to handle. My only issue was... I was sent a used one!!! A store return or something... my pruner was all scratched up, blade seems a little warped, handle was scratched and worn... the wing nut that holds the blade was nicked and the paint was worn off and it appears to be stripped because it wasn't replaced properly... good thing I have spare nuts and bolts and tools lying around.... after a few minutes, I had to together, but come on, Home Depot!!! Who's picking these orders! Why would you pick up the store return one that's been repackaged very poorly, as an item for delivery??? It doesn't affect the use of the pruner, but it's the principle of sending a damaged product to a customer... shame, shame, SHAME on you, Home Depot! This is the second time that I've had something delivered from your store and ended up with a slightly damaged product... where is the quality control when you're picking your orders, hello??? it's a good thing I'm not that picky...
      by
      Response from FiskarsProductExpertAug 29, 2023
      Thank you for your feedback on the Tree Pruner. We appreciate you taking the time to share with us. We're sorry to hear that you received one that was used. Please contact our warranty department regarding this. You can file a claim online here: https://d30000001hmdweag.my.salesforce-sites.com/FiskarsWarranty/. If you receive an error message, please email your name, shipping address, photo of your entire item and the issue to: warranty@fiskars.com. Fiskars
        • Recommended
        1 found this review helpful
        Broke during first use
        A bolt fell out during the first time I ever used it. I can fix it, sure, but why should I have to? The bolt is somewhere in my yard, so I guess I'll find it with the lawn mower!
        by
        Response from FiskarsProductExpertJul 3, 2023
        Please file a claim regarding this here: https://d30000001hmdweag.my.salesforce-sites.com/FiskarsWarranty/ If you receive an error message, please email your name, shipping address, photo of your entire item and the issue to: warranty@fiskars.com Fiskars
          5 found this review helpful
          Used 4-5 times & Its Broken
          I’ve used this tool a handful of times and store it inside a shed sheltered from natures elements. Today I went to trim a dead branch and the tip snapped off!
          by
          Response from FiskarsProductExpertApr 26, 2023
          We are sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with your purchase. We strive to provide the best quality products to our customers, and we apologize for any inconvenience that you may have experienced. Please submit a claim online regarding this: https://d30000001hmdweag.my.salesforce-sites.com/FiskarsWarranty/ Fiskars
            2 found this review helpful
            Poor quality. The holes on the pole wear away.
            The constant sawing motions when using this pole always wear away and widen the hole where the snap button secures into the pole when you extend it. Pole is made of cheap non-durable materials and becomes unusable. Thankfully they have a good warranty and this is my second warranty claim. I'm requesting a full refund because they all have the same issue and will eventually become useless. Not sure if the replacement they sent me was new or used because I barely used it and it's damaged.
            by
            Response from FiskarsProductExpertApr 17, 2023
            Sean, we are sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with your purchase. We strive to provide the best quality products to our customers, and we apologize for any inconvenience that you may have experienced. This issue has been relayed to the appropriate department. Fiskars
              8 found this review helpful
              Awesome product
              Bought this to replace my old saw. Because of the recent high winds and rains a large tree in my back yard was up rooted. So whike i waited for the tree company to get to me i ised this to trim off as many lims as i could reach. Worked great. And they improved the telescoping method.
              by
              Response from FiskarsProductExpertJan 24, 2023
              Bnlocote, we're so happy to hear that you're enjoying our PowerLever 1-1/8 in. Cut Capacity Steel Saw Blade 15 in. Fiberglass Pole 14 ft. Tree Pruner! Thanks for the feedback. Fiskars
              • Verified Purchase
              Broke
              Owned it 11 months. Used twice. The plastic internal lock that holds the inner extendable pole broke. Avoid it unless desperate.
              by
                11 found this review helpful
                Easy to use and effective
                [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] I received this pruner/cutter and put it to use right away. It has a long pole to get higher up into trees and bushes to do pruning. I can cut, snip, and saw whatever I need to get the right prune. I’ve used other brands who have similar products but this one is my favorite and seems to be the higher quality. Great product.
                by
                  • Recommended
                  Excellent Quality!
                  [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] With this Power-Lever Extendable Pole Saw & Pruner, that extends out to 14 feet, I was able to reach the high branches of my oak tree which desperately needed pruning. It is very handy that it includes both a saw and a pruner, it means I can prune off the smaller branches and saw off the larger ones, no need for addition tools. The pole is lightweight but it remains sturdy while sawing. This is a versatile product that is really easy to use and comes with a lifetime warranty.
                  by
                    • Recommended
                    Easy to Use With Power-Level Technology
                    [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] I am a huge Fiskars fan. I have scissors and hand pruners of every kind and consider them my workhorses. So I looked to them when I needed a pole saw. We had a very rough winter in Colorado that caused a lot of breakage and dead branches on lots of my trees. All of the damage needed to be removed and I had to prune out competing branches and weak crotches with sharp angles. I have a gas powered extendable pole saw, but it is too heavy and too large or awkward to get into the spaces where I needed to trim. This Fiskars Power Level Extendable Pole Saw and Pruner was perfect for the job. Out of the package, there was a minor assembly of the 5 inch wood zig blade but then it was ready to go. The oval handle fit my hand and didn’t roll around like a round pole. It just felt safer. There is a double locking system so the pole is secured without slipping up and down. Then there as the heavy duty cord with an easy to use handle attached. It had very good leverage and had as much power as I needed. It was especially well planned with the pruner that cuts up to an inch and an eighth or the 15 inch saw for much larger branches. There is a low friction coating on the blade for smoother cuts than my old saw. The best part was that it fit into all the spaces to make the correct cuts and I didn’t have to climb a ladder! It was easy to use and I could successfully complete my projects. And there is a full lifetime warranty for this handy tool. It truly is another great Fiskar tool.
                    by
                      • Recommended
                      Dont waste the money
                      Low quality, the set pin broke the fiber glass slot within ten cuts. Now when cutting in the shortest length the pole extends on the backstroke of sawing. Buy with a better locking mechanism or with a metal pole
                      by
                      • Verified Purchase
                      13 found this review helpful
                      Absolute rubbish & design failure.
                      This Fiskars tree pruner is a total disappointment. As long as your expectations are low, like zero, you might be satisfied. The blade & cutting part work fine. The pole, however, is garbage. Fiberglass pole & the extention did not lock within the first few swipes. The rod that locks the outer pole to the inner pole blew out the hole before I got the first limb down. From that point, the extention feature is essentially useless & the leverage becomes nonexistent. Don't waste your money
                      by
                        11 found this review helpful
                        Fiskars did not work as purchased. Corrected
                        The cord was threaded from the inside (left side of the pulley base as pictured) from the factory and the knot was not allowing the blade to close all the way. By untying the knot and threading the cord from the outside (right) side of the pulley and then tying 2 half hitches, the knot did not interfere with the full throw of the blade, allowing a clean cut. See photos.
                        by
                          • Recommended
                          Great Saw - Poor Locking Mechanism
                          After one use (5-6 branches) the first hole of the locking mechanism was completely worn out and I had to extend it to keep pruning. After a handful of more branches, that hole is failing as well. So this seems to be a single-use, throw away product.
                          by
                            9 found this review helpful
                            Fiberglass failed on first use
                            The locking pin into the upper fiberglass destroyed the oval insert tube on my first usage. The pin will no longer lock into this hole. The pin was fully inserted and locking clamp in place. DO NOT BUY.
                            by
                              17 found this review helpful
                              locking sleeve holes broken on 2nd use
                              on my 2nd use the locking holes are already breaking.
                              by
                                7 found this review helpful
                                Piece of plastic/fiberglass junk
                                Bracket that secures extending pole to base is cheap plastic. Broke on 2nd use when it is stored in a windowless garage so no way for it to be decrepit without poor manufacturing.
                                by
                                  16 found this review helpful
                                  absolute junk!
                                  have hardly used this thing and the cutter blade is chipped and broken, the cord is already frayed! Ive used it for one day trimming up a crabapple tree. the saw blade is awful also. should have returned it when I had the chance
                                  by
                                    14 found this review helpful
                                    It's color is its only redeeming quality
                                    It's one thing to waste your money, it's another to waste your time and money. I spent more time getting the pruner unstuck from a branch than I did tree pruning. The pole is heavy and unbalanced. The saw blade is inferior to other blades on the market. The pruner is dull. Took too much effort to do anything.
                                    by
                                      19 found this review helpful
                                      really did the job
                                      Great product , did not use the saw yet, Removed all branches away from my roof!!!
                                      by
                                        • Recommended
                                        1 found this review helpful
                                        I was able to accomplish a lot of overhead trimming....
                                        I was able to accomplish a lot of overhead trimming. But there were a couple of issues that could be improved. The saw is fairly flimsy. when I have the pole extended and I’m trying to cut a branch far overhead, the blade bends and get stuck. The cord sometimes gets stuck in the mechanism. I think this happens most when I am trying to get the loppers in place to cut a branch, not as a result of the cutting action. It needs more guides to keep it out of the areas that move. (See photo) Lastly, there doesn’t seem to be any real thought for storing the cord. Give me a cleat, or a couple of rivets that stick off a little that I can wrap the cord around. Put a Divet in the handle so that it can secure the coiled cord like my vacuum cleaner does.
                                        by
                                        • Verified Purchase
                                        9 found this review helpful
                                        Did the trick!
                                        The saw took care of everything that didn’t fit the 1-1/8in cutter. Very glad I chose this over a corded electric saw. Good bang for the buck.
                                        by
                                          • Recommended
                                          4 found this review helpful
                                          I had to cut about 20 branches up to 4 inches in diameter to install a swing for my grand kids in...
                                          I had to cut about 20 branches up to 4 inches in diameter to install a swing for my grand kids in a Oak tree. The first pole saw didn't work from another competitor. So I when to Home Depot. The blade is thick to it does not bend when cutting and the saw teeth cut very well. The pole length was just enough to reach the up to 20 feet up. Got the job done easily and quickly. worth the money spent.
                                          by
                                          • Pro
                                          • Verified Purchase
                                          • Recommended
                                          20 found this review helpful
                                          Excellent product! Does an amazing job!...
                                          Excellent product! Does an amazing job!
                                          by
                                          • Verified Purchase
                                          5 found this review helpful
                                          Works really well!!!! Nice price
                                          Works really well!!!! Nice price
                                          by
                                          • Verified Purchase
                                          • Recommended
                                          3 found this review helpful
                                          What a waste of money
                                          Christmas gift that is almost worthless. I've used it about 4 times. The pin doesn't hold in any of the holes in the extended positions. and the clamp is useless. After the first time I used it I knew I should have returned it. Poor design materials. I should have listened to my neighbor who has the less expensive version with the same problem. The only solution is to drill holes through the handle and use a bolt and wing nut to hold it when extended or use your old saw like I do when I need the extension. Save your money and buy something better. Fiskars should stick to scissors.
                                          by
                                            43 found this review helpful
                                            Plastic head broke first time I used it
                                            Purchased this pole saw and the first time I used it, the plastic head broke. Tried to call maker service center and their not accepting any calls and their website is frozen. Geez just crap product service. Going to get a refund from Home Depot
                                            by
                                              29 found this review helpful
                                              Tool works great, and is easy to use! The bottom shaft did separate from the upper shaft when fu...
                                              Tool works great, and is easy to use! The bottom shaft did separate from the upper shaft when fully extended and was in use, but I probably didn't close the clamp tight enough. Was tricky to get the half of the pole that had the blade attached out of a tree, but we managed.
                                              by
                                              • Verified Purchase
                                              • Recommended
                                              5 found this review helpful
                                              This is The Best $45 I have ever Spint!
                                              Got that done! Our old gardener bid $279. I only needed a 3 foot step ladder and 1 hour of my time to trim 3 Palm Trees. I attached a photo of one of them.
                                              by
                                                • Recommended
                                                Showing 1-30 of 3,043 reviews

                                                Frequently Bought Together

                                                Best Seller
                                                +
                                                +
                                                Price:
                                                $5998

                                                Compare Similar Tree Pruners

                                                current product
                                                Best SellerPowerLever 1-1/8 in. Cut Capacity Steel Saw Blade 15 in. Fiberglass Pole 14 ft. Tree Pruner
                                                Exclusive12 in. Forged Steel Blade 14 ft. Tree Pruner and SawJA Big Mouth Bypass Pruner Head with Single PulleyUltra-Reach 4 ft. to 6 ft. Telescopic Pole Pruner and Saw
                                                BrandFiskarsHuskyJamesonBARNEL USA
                                                NamePowerLever 1-1/8 in. Cut Capacity Steel Saw Blade 15 in. Fiberglass Pole 14 ft. Tree Pruner12 in. Forged Steel Blade 14 ft. Tree Pruner and SawJA Big Mouth Bypass Pruner Head with Single PulleyUltra-Reach 4 ft. to 6 ft. Telescopic Pole Pruner and Saw
                                                Price
                                                $5998
                                                $4998
                                                $9999
                                                $10360
                                                Ratings
                                                (3040)
                                                (67)
                                                (19)
                                                (2)
                                                Maximum Cutting Thickness (in.)1.125 in8 in1.75 in.625 in
                                                Blade MaterialSteelHigh Carbon SteelSteelHigh Carbon Steel
                                                Garden Center Tool Type Tree Pruners/Shears
                                                View ProductView ProductView ProductView Product