#1 Home Improvement Retailer

Customer Reviews for Fiskars PowerLever 1-1/8 in. Cut Capacity Steel Saw Blade 15 in. Fiberglass Pole 14 ft. Tree Pruner

Internet #300412758

Model #393981-1002

Store SKU #1002141723

  • Fiberglass pole is lightweight yet strong
  • Secure double-locking system ensures extended pole stays put
  • Prunes vegetation with a maximum thickness of 1-1/8 in.

Customer Reviews

  • 4.4
    out of 3,043 reviews
  • 80% recommend this product
Filter by:
Showing 1-30 of 3,043 reviews
This is The Best $45 I have ever Spint!
Got that done! Our old gardener bid $279. I only needed a 3 foot step ladder and 1 hour of my time to trim 3 Palm Trees. I attached a photo of one of them.
by
    • Recommended
    9 found this review helpful
    Easy to assemble and use. Cut with less effort than I expected. Blade is super sharp.
    Easy to assemble and use. Cut with less effort than I expected. Blade is super sharp.
    by
    • Verified Purchase
    • Recommended
    3 found this review helpful
    Cuts quickly, cheaply made, worn hole on day one
    Purchased today and after brief use the inner extension sleeve hole is tearing out after 3 cuts. This will just lead to more slop and splitting of the tube. Too much epoxy and not enough glass in the inner sleeve. can't recommend at all. maybe Fiskars needs to get a better foreign manufacturers..
    by
    Response from FiskarsProductExpertApr 9, 2019
    Our consumer services team would love to help! Please email us at fiskarsweborders@fiskars.com for information about our lifetime warranty against defects. Fiskars
      37 found this review helpful
      I was going to purchase the Fiskars 1 in. Cut Capacity Steel Blade Fiberglass Handled 12 ft. But ...
      I was going to purchase the Fiskars 1 in. Cut Capacity Steel Blade Fiberglass Handled 12 ft. But when I compared it to the 14 foot 1-1/8 in it was much more robust. The handle is almost twice the size of the 12 ft. I cut many small branches with the PowerLever and two 4 inch branches and some smaller branches with the sawblade. The PowerLever cut took much less pulling power on the cord than I expected. The saw blade is very sturdy and sharp. It takes a little practice but once you get the angle and back stroke correct it cut through the limbs effortlessly. I read reviews where people complained about the wing nut coming loose prior to my purchase, so I tightened the wing nut with pliers and I had no issues with it coming loose. I also read complaints the blade was flimsy and dull. Not the case with this one, the blade did not bend it cuts on the back stroke and it is very sharp. If you have ever cut branches with a camping saw this blade is as or more sharp and cuts through limbs quickly. I recommend spending the extra few bucks and purchase the 14 foot over the 12 foot. Mike
      by
      Response from FiskarsProductExpertFeb 13, 2019
      Thanks for reviewing our tree pruner Mike. We're so glad you had a good experience with it! Fiskars
        • Recommended
        27 found this review helpful
        Just purchased a week ago. Better and easier to use than I expected. Both the pruner and the saw ...
        Just purchased a week ago. Better and easier to use than I expected. Both the pruner and the saw do the job with extreme precision. This is perfect for overhanging branches and overgrown bushes. I had a handyman leave a flyer on my door for tree trimming services, but I'm pretty sure it has paid for itself upon 1st use. NOTE: When using fully extended, be careful after pruning or sawing a branch off, as the pole will also start heading downward quickly and you don't want the saw blade or the device itself crashing into the ground.
        by
        Response from FiskarsProductExpertDec 31, 2018
        We're so happy to hear you're enjoying our tree pruner. Thanks for sharing! Fiskars
        • Verified Purchase
        • Recommended
        9 found this review helpful
        Don't buy this if you need the saw feature. The design of the extendable pole makes the saw near...
        Don't buy this if you need the saw feature. The design of the extendable pole makes the saw nearly useless. On its first use the extension won't stay locked so I can't give a good pull on the saw without the pole sliding out. The problem seems to be with the inside pole which is plastic or fiberglass, and immediately chips such that the locking pin can't hold it in place. See my photo. This piece of junk goes right back to Home Depot.
        by
        Response from FiskarsProductExpertAug 20, 2018
        Thank you for your feedback on our tree pruner. Please don't hesitate to reach out to our consumer services team at fiskarsweborders@fiskars.com with any future product questions or concerns. Fiskars
          19 found this review helpful
          Bought this product and tried it today in Ohio. With fiskars reputation I thought this thing woul...
          Bought this product and tried it today in Ohio. With fiskars reputation I thought this thing would be the best, I will say average. 1 inch limbs with the cut jaw above average. the steel saw is pretty much a waste of time it constantly gets stuck in the tree fibers I have included pictures of how rough this saw is to get going
          by
            5 found this review helpful
            Works fine, however, the rope began to disintegrate after and year and a half. The trimmer was st...
            Works fine, however, the rope began to disintegrate after and year and a half. The trimmer was stored leaning against the house, under an eave, under a large tree, so it was in the shade most of the time. But the outer sheath of the rope turned to shreds, exposing multiple inner strands, and the whole thing jammed up. I had only used it 3 times for small jobs. I don't know if it would have lasted longer if I had kept it in the garage, but it seems that a garden product should be made to withstand the elements. Perhaps they fixed the problem already. The rope shown on the website is now a dark color instead of white.
            by
              12 found this review helpful
              This is a great tool. The size limitation for the largest limb it can handle only refers to what ...
              This is a great tool. The size limitation for the largest limb it can handle only refers to what size limb will fit into the pruning clipper's opening. With the saw blade I cut 3 and 4 inch diameter limbs with no problem. Some have written that the blade flexes too much. These people mistakenly assume that the saw cuts on the push stroke. NO. It is designed to cut only on the PULL stroke, as you stand below your work and your arms and your weight pull down and cut. Then smoothly push the blade forward again with no cutting pressure, and pull down again for your next cutting stroke. Check that the blade-holding nut is tight. Engage the blade in the preset angle that works best for you. I prefer the preset position in which the blade is most closely aligned with the direction of the pole.
              by
                • Recommended
                82 found this review helpful
                LOST MY OLD PRUNER. PURCHASED THIS TOOL FOR A LONG WEEKEND TREE PRUNING PARTY. I AM GIVING IT ...
                LOST MY OLD PRUNER. PURCHASED THIS TOOL FOR A LONG WEEKEND TREE PRUNING PARTY. I AM GIVING IT A "POOR/NOT RECOMMENDED/NFG" RATING BECAUSE OF THE SAW BLADE ATTACHMENT METHOD. IT IS A POOR DESIGN CHOICE FOR SECURING THE BLADE. THE SINGLE SCREW/WING NUT & LOCATING PIN/HOLE COMBINATION IS INADEQUATE TO MAINTAIN A TIGHT SAW BLADE. THIS IS ESPECIALLY TRUE IF THE CUTTING ACTION IS SOMEWHAT LABORED. A LOOSE SAW BLADE FURTHER CAUSES THE LOCATING PIN/HOLE TO WEAR. THE LOOSE PIN/HOLE PROBLEM SNOWBALLS AS THE SAW BLADE REPEATEDLY WORKS ITSELF LOOSE WHILE CUTTING. IN SUMMARY, THE TOOL SHOULD HAVE TWO GR5 SCREW/HEX NUT COMBINATIONS TO SECURE THE SAW BLADE. NO LOCATING PIN/HOLE COMBINATION WOULD BE NECESSARY.
                by
                  30 found this review helpful
                  A WELL DESIGNED AND USEFUL TOOL
                  When I first removed this product from the box it was shipped in I could tell that a lot of thought went into the design. I am really pleased with the quality and function of this FISKARS pole saw and pruner. The power-lever extendable pruners pole is oval shaped to reduce flex during use and makes it easier to grip and control. The pole features a double locking system that consists of a push button that releases a pin that locks into holes at different intervals on pole and a collar type lock that pole locked at desired length. The pruner power lever pulley system easily slices through smaller branches with little effort while the 15 inch long saw blade makes quick work of larger limbs without binding up like on some pole saws from other manufacturers. Living in New England the snow and ice can do a job on trees especially older ones and I was very happy to be able to quickly trim sagging branches and limbs on a maple tree I own before they fell and caused damage to a car and without freezing my butt off. This saw is backed by the same full lifetime warranty as other FISKARS products.-
                  by
                  • Recommended
                  26 found this review helpful
                  Cuts great!
                  This pruner is great and works well for the average homeowner who needs to trim branches occasionally. The blades is not attached in the package, but it is a simple process. One needs to only unscrew a wing nut, put the blade over the screw, then tighten the wing nut. Viola! Your pruner is ready to go. The saw blade is sharp and cuts easily without any hang ups. The pruner opening can handle up to 1-1/8" branches. It also cuts quite easily. The handle of this is also fantastic! It is fiberglass and very light. It is oval shaped which is nice because it doesn't twist in your hands while you are using it. When you extend it there are set stops every couple feet. It also has a lock to if you choose to not use the stops that are predrilled into the extension.
                  by
                  • Recommended
                  31 found this review helpful
                  Excellent pruning tool.
                  This tree pruning tool is excellent. The pole extends very high into the trees, and you can really get a good amount of traction with the saw. The tool is very sharp and it cut through a fairly thick branch in the tree in our front yard. The limb was at least 8 inches thick and i was able to saw through it pretty quickly and without much strain. MUCH better then having to climb a ladder and risk falling!!!
                  by
                  • Recommended
                  12 found this review helpful
                  "Sharp and two in one Pole Saw/Pruner"
                  The Fiskars Pole Tree Pruner works some great wonders. It's very easy to install the saw blade. Follow the directions for proper assembly/use. The pruner cuts up to 1 1/8 inch branches along with a Steel saw blade that measures 15 inches in length on the same side for ease of function. I like the neon orange color to the pole. The pole extends up to 14 feet. I really like the double locking feature and it's very easy to use. The pruner has a pully in order to cut with ease. The steel blade is very sharp and makes it easy to cut thicker branches. I'm extremely pleased with the pruner because of the hard to reach branches, once you place the hook over a branch you can pull on the hand grip attached to the rope to simply cut. It doesn't take much force to cut. Be sure to reel the rope around your hand so that it doesn't tangle around your feet.
                  by
                  • Recommended
                  18 found this review helpful
                  With a 14’ reach, I can easily trim most of my trees myself
                  The Fiskars 14’ Tree Pruner is long enough for me to prune most of the trees in my yard without having to climb on a ladder at all. The pole is made from fiberglass and has an oval shape that makes it easy to hold and provides a really good amount of front to back rigidness. The tool end of the pruner has a cutting blade on a spring loaded lever attached to a long rope through a cam that gives me a lot of leverage to cut smaller branches. Just hook the branch and pull the rope down. I was very pleased with how easy this was. There’s also a removable curved saw blade attached to the end for cutting through larger branches. It only took me a few minutes to discover how to best use the saw for cutting through larger branches effectively. It’s a little awkward at first, but I quickly got the hang of it and then went a little crazy and probably cut a little more out of some of my trees than I should have. The pole has a few positions it can be locked into so that it doesn’t inadvertently extend or contract while in use. It felt quite sturdy as I used it and I expect it will last many years. The saw blade can be removed and sharpened or replaced if needed. The pole is entirely fiberglass and most of the other parts look to be well painted or otherwise coated to resist rusting. I should have bought one of these years ago and saved myself hundreds of dollars I paid gardeners or “tree guys” to prune my trees.
                  by
                  • Recommended
                  23 found this review helpful
                  by
                  • Verified Purchase
                  by
                  • Verified Purchase
                  by
                  • Verified Purchase
                  I like the pole saw very much! It cuts the wood easily even large branches of oak. It makes the work easier and safer with less need for ladders. I have two other brands of pole saws and they just can't compare to this one. Thanks
                  by
                  Response from FiskarsProductExpertFeb 26, 2024
                  Thank you, Ada. We value the positive review and are happy you enjoy your PowerLever 14 ft. Tree Pruner. Fiskars
                  • Verified Purchase
                  Works well , pull rope has gotten pinched between the pulley and bracket a couple of times during the first use. Not a big problem but a concern
                  by
                  Response from FiskarsProductExpertFeb 22, 2024
                  Thank you for your feedback on the PowerLever 14 ft. Tree Pruner, JK. We appreciate you taking the time to share with us. Fiskars
                  • Verified Purchase
                  This item was returned two days after purchase. If I taped a butter knife to a broom stick - that would have worked better than this product
                  by
                  Response from FiskarsProductExpertFeb 22, 2024
                  Thank you for your feedback. We’re sorry that you had a negative experience with our product. We apologize for any inconvenience and hope you’ll give us another chance in the future. Fiskars
                  • Verified Purchase
                  Decent Tree Pruner for the Money
                  I was hesitant to purchase this after reading several negative reviews. I'm guessing that people who had this break tried to use the lopper on branches that were too thick? I had no issues and used the lopper and saw to trim branches that filled two large green waste bins. The specs state that the lopper can only cut branches 1.1/8" thick. The saw is decent as well and I used that for thicker branches. It's not a heavy duty trimmer but for light trimming it's a great tool for the price.
                  by
                  Response from FiskarsProductExpertFeb 22, 2024
                  Thank you for your feedback on the PowerLever 14 ft. Tree Pruner, MacD. We appreciate you taking the time to share with us. Fiskars
                    • Recommended
                    Great quality and easy to use. Purchased and used it right away. The unit extends easily and works well when fully extended.
                    by
                    Response from FiskarsProductExpertFeb 22, 2024
                    Thank you, Sam. We value the positive review and are happy you enjoy your PowerLever 14 ft. Tree Pruner. Fiskars
                    • Verified Purchase
                    by
                    • Verified Purchase
                    by
                    • Verified Purchase
                    by
                    • Verified Purchase
                    by
                    • Verified Purchase
                    by
                    • Verified Purchase
                    by
                    • Verified Purchase
                    Helped extend my reach
                    I needed to prune some branches out of my reach, and ladder climbing wasn't an option. PROs: The pole extended to the length I needed. The saw was useful for branches too big to lop. Great price for a tool I won't need to use that often. I like it! CONs: The bolt that holds the movable lopper blade worked its way loose after lopping several branches. Easy to retighten. The cord was very "stretchy", which made it harder to cut some thicker branches. Excess cord length was sometimes in the way.
                    by
                    Response from FiskarsProductExpertFeb 2, 2024
                    Thank you for your feedback on the PowerLever 14 ft. Tree Pruner, Annakaru. We appreciate you taking the time to share with us. Fiskars
                      • Recommended
                      Showing 1-30 of 3,043 reviews

                      Frequently Bought Together

                      Best Seller
                      +
                      +
                      Price:
                      $5998

                      Compare Similar Tree Pruners

                      current product
                      Best SellerPowerLever 1-1/8 in. Cut Capacity Steel Saw Blade 15 in. Fiberglass Pole 14 ft. Tree Pruner
                      FG 6 ft. Fiberglass Extension Pole for Tree Pruner or Saw (2-Pack)JA Big Mouth Bypass Pruner Head with Single PulleyUltra-Reach 4 ft. to 6 ft. Telescopic Pole Pruner and Saw
                      BrandFiskarsJamesonJamesonBARNEL USA
                      NamePowerLever 1-1/8 in. Cut Capacity Steel Saw Blade 15 in. Fiberglass Pole 14 ft. Tree PrunerFG 6 ft. Fiberglass Extension Pole for Tree Pruner or Saw (2-Pack)JA Big Mouth Bypass Pruner Head with Single PulleyUltra-Reach 4 ft. to 6 ft. Telescopic Pole Pruner and Saw
                      Price
                      $5998
                      $7899
                      $9999
                      $10360
                      Ratings
                      (3040)
                      (53)
                      (19)
                      (2)
                      Maximum Cutting Thickness (in.)1.125 in0 in1.75 in.625 in
                      Blade MaterialSteel SteelHigh Carbon Steel
                      Garden Center Tool Type Tree Pruners/ShearsTree Pruners/Shears
                      View ProductView ProductView ProductView Product